How to Delete Browser History on Android

Privacy is becoming more and more of a concern these days, especially when we use our smartphones for anything and everything. One question we continue to get is how to delete or clear your browser history on an Android smartphone or tablet.

There are many different reasons a user may want to delete their internet browser or search history, and we’re sure you have your reasons, so here’s how to do it.

Read: How to Cut, Copy & Paste on Android

When it comes to removing your browser history on Android there’s a few different scenarios here. For one, there’s a wide array of different browsers available for Android users, not to mention manufacturers like Samsung have their own browser options on top of Google Chrome. That being said, below we’ll explain how easy it is to remove your history on Chrome.

Android-history

If you’re logged into your Google account, which most of you are, every website you visit or search you do will be saved. That is unless you have history turned off or are using an incognito tab, which we’ll talk about more below.

Whether you just want to wipe out your browser history so the wife doesn’t see what you got her for her birthday, or for other reasons, read on for a few more details and quick video showing you how easy this process actually is. That said, removing your browser history and search history are two different things.

Advertisement

Instructions

Now as we mentioned above, there’s a wide array of 3rd party browser options readily available on the Google Play Store for users, and from manufacturers. However, Google Chrome is the most popular so we’ll be explaining that below. That being said, the same process is nearly identical for all browsers on smartphones, tablets, and even your desktop at home.

On Google Chrome you’ll need to enter the menu by hitting the 3 dots at the top, or the physical menu button for most Android devices, and then halfway down the popup you’ll see “History”. Tap this and you’ll see an entire list of your browser history curated. From here you can remove them one at a time, so it doesn’t look like you’re hiding your tracks, or tap the “clear browsing data” button down below for a full wipe.

Android-browserhistory

From here you can select just your history, all your cache and cookies, as well as site data. This is also a good idea to do on occasion as your phone stores a lot of data, and this can clear a little space and speed up your Chrome browsing experience. It’s not recommended to check the last two, as this will clear saved passwords and sign-in usernames and auto-fill data remembered by the browser. However, if you’re worried, a full wipe might be in order.

Simple select what you want to clear, and hit the “clear” button and let it do its magic. From here you’ll have a long (or short) wait depending on how often this is performed, and you’re done. The video below quickly shows you how this can be done in person.

That’s all there is to it. If you’re using a Samsung Galaxy S4, Galaxy S5, Note 3, or any other Samsung device Chrome is probably an option, but they have their own called “Internet”. If you want to clear your history on a Samsung device you’ll need to enter the same menu, scroll down to settings, tap privacy, and select the “Clear personal data” to complete the same task as mentioned above.

Prevent This At the Beginning

Of course you can always take precautionary steps to stop Google or your browser from saving your history to begin with. This is called the Incognito Tab. When you’re in Chrome hit menu and open a new Incognito tab. These don’t remember or save any history, passwords, login, or track what you do. This is your best bet, and something many users should consider.

That isn’t all either. There’s multiple browsers on the Google Play Store that do this by default and will never, ever, remember any of your data. Dolphin Zero is a good one, and Opera has a browser-wide privacy mode you can also enable.

Advertisement

What we do on our smartphones are our own business, so make sure and take the steps mentioned above to prevent it from being saved, or to delete if when you’ve done something you’d rather not let others see. Whatever that may be.

Leave a Reply