How to Reset an Android Smartphone or Tablet

These days our Android smartphones and tablets are very advanced that do a lot of things and hold valuable information, files, apps, data and more. Whether you’re getting rid of an old smartphone or tablet, or recently did a major software update and need to clean out your device, a factory data reset is what you’ll need to do, and below we’ll explain just how easy it is to complete.

This erases the device and puts it back to the “factory out of the box state” hence the name factory data reset. This can often-times fix bugs or issues after a recent software update, like the huge upgrade to Android 5.0 Lollipop, and it’s also a step you’ll want to take to delete all your personal information before you sell a smartphone or tablet.


Read: How to Backup Android in 5 Easy Steps

If you need to do a factory data reset on your Android smartphone or tablet you’ll likely want to get all your information, files, pictures or data off the device first. Start by hitting the link above to backup your Android, then read on to learn how to quickly perform a factory data reset and wipe all information from your Android device.



Again, before we get started, this will erase everything from your Android smartphone or tablet. Doing a factory data reset erases everything, and puts it back to the same state as it was out of the box, or as it left the factory. This can fix battery life issues or software problems after updates, and is a good thing to do before you sell a device.


Without further ado, lets get started and erase those Android smartphones or tablets.


Finding the actual setting option in your menu of settings may vary slightly from Android device to Android device, mainly because manufacturers like Samsung or HTC change the look and feel a bit, it’s generally in the same place. It only takes 4-5 taps of your finger and you will completely erase your device back to the factory state.

Head into settings by pulling down the notification bar and tapping the gear-shaped settings icon, or find the settings app in the application tray. Once in settings you’ll want to scroll down to personal and select “Backup & Reset“. This option may also be in the “Security” settings menu on some Android devices.



Once you’re in the Backup & reset settings menu you’ll see a few options where Google will remind you (and do it for you) to backup your data. This saves data, Wi-Fi passwords, and other settings or information from your account to Google’s servers. This makes restoring information to a new device a breeze.

Read: Android 5.0 Tap N’ Go Restores Your Phone in Minutes

It is a good idea to let Google backup important information, as well as doing some of the steps outlined earlier in this post about backing up your Android device. Once you’ve backed up any information you’d like to keep, simply scroll down and select “Factory data reset” in the backup and reset settings menu.


This screen shows you all the accounts that are connected to the device, and will let you know what is about to be erased. If your device takes a micro-SD card, you’ll have an option to check or uncheck that to erase the micro-SD card as well. It usually stores your photos, so you may want to uncheck that option.


That’s it. Simply select the Factory Data Reset button (or “Reset Phone“) and don’t touch your device. It will reboot, erase all user data, reinstall the latest software and reboot as a brand new smartphone or tablet. All information, accounts, contacts, messages and more will be gone, and it will be just like it was out of the box.

You’re all done. You’ve successfully done a factory data reset on your device. Now restore any information you had if you’re still using it, or feel free to sell your old device with confidence.