Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 Update: Impressions & Performance

After a lengthy wait we installed the Nexus Android 5.0.2 Lollipop update on the Nexus 7 2012 edition and took Google’s latest software for a spin on an aging tablet to see how the new look and new features hold up. The Nexus 7 Android 5.0.2 update installed quickly, and we set out to test the performance of Android Lollipop on older hardware to see if it handles as well as on the Nexus 7 2013.

The Android 5.0 Lollipop update started rolling out in November, but did not arrive on many Nexus devices until early 2015. After spending a weekend testing the Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 update we can share more details on how this update performs.

Google delivered an overhaul to Android with a new look that includes Material Design,  a new lock screen and multitasking menu as well as changes to notifications and many bug fixes and improvements. This is a large update and delivers a new experience to users upgrading from Android 4.4 KitKat.

Here is our early Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 review.

Here is our early Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 review.

One of the reasons we are looking at the Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 update instead of just Android 5.0 Lollipop is due to the various bugs that Google identified and rolled out fixes for many common Android Lollipop problems.

After spending time using the Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 update I can share my early impressions with other Nexus 7 2012 owners to help them decide if it is worth installing Android 5.0.2 Lollipop update on the Nexus 7 from 2012 and saying goodbye to Android 4.4 KitKat.

Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 Installation

Installing the Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 update was a simple task that took about 20-30 minutes to complete and to update all the apps. During this process you cannot use the Nexus 7, so plan accordingly.

Installing Android 5.0.2 on the Nexus 7 2012 went smoothly.

Installing Android 5.0.2 on the Nexus 7 2012 went smoothly.

Although updates can cause problems, I did not run into any issues installing Android Lollipop on the Nexus 7 2012. The update installed fairly quickly and all the apps updated before booting to the home screen with the new view. The only real oddity with this update is the need to open Google Play Services multiple times after the update, but this happens anytime I update Android.

This is a stock Nexus 7 2012 model with no custom ROMs, rooting or other customizations that could cause problems with an over-the-air Android 5.0.2 update.

Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 Review (Early)

I spent a good part of the weekend using the Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 update to determine the performance of this update on the older Nexus 7 2012. It is worth noting that your mileage may vary with how well the update handles on your machine. It is unlikely that we all use the same apps and perform the same tasks on the Nexus 7, which will change your overall experience.

Hopefully this will help you decide if it is worth installing the free Android 5.0.2 update on the Nexus 7 2012, or if you should wait for other updates to arrive.

Speed

The Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 update performance is not the best, and in our experience it is a little slower and animations are not as smooth as on KitKat. You can see some of this in the video below.

The Nexus 7 2012 Android Lollipop performance improved dramatically after two days and two restarts, so that is the first thing to do if your Nexus 7 is slower than it was on KitKat. We will continue to monitor the speed and see if there are any ways to speed it up before sharing the final Nexus 7 2012 Android Lollipop review.

Apps

Every app that we installed on the Nexus 7 2012 after the Android 5.0.2 Lollipop update worked well, and the only issue we discovered was a problem with a local municipality website using an old security certificate that Google Chrome did not like. We had to turn on a password for the tablet and then decline to install a security update to access it.

Google Play Movies, Chrome other than that one website and a handful of other apps that we rely on work just fine after the update.

Android 5.0.2 Battery Life

It is still early in our battery life testing, but there is no fast drain that indicates any type of Android 5.0.2 battery problems on our Nexus 7 2012 model. The tablet holds a charge well, even when left alone for half a day. This is an area that we will pay close attention to for the full review, but so far things are good.

What you need to know about Android 5.0.2 on the Nexus 7 2012.

What you need to know about Android 5.0.2 on the Nexus 7 2012.

WiFi & Bluetooth

Connectivity is one of the most frequent areas of complaints after installing updates big and small. The Nexus 7 2012 continues to connect to WiFi without any problems after the Lollipop update including a home network and a personal hotspot. Bluetooth appears to function, but we still need to connect a Bluetooth keyboard to test that functionality.

Bugs & Issues

While there are some Android 5.0.2 bugs and problems, our issues are limited to an issue with a specific website and Chrome, not with the Nexus 7 2012 or Android Lollipop specifically.

We do hope that the speed of Android 5.0.2 on the Nexus 7 2012 improves over time or with a future update, but that is not a bug as much the consequence of using new software on aging hardware.

Problems tend to appear after extended use, so we’ll keep a close eye out for potential Android 5.0.2 bugs as we continue to test the Nexus 7 2012.

Should You Install the Nexus 7 2012 Android 5.0.2 Update?

If you are experiencing problems on KitKat or you really want the new Android 5.0 Lollipop features than you can install without any major issues, but for many users this is an update worth waiting on.

If you have problems, you should try Android 5.0.2 on the Nexus 7 2012,  otherwise you may want to wait.

If you have problems, you should try Android 5.0.2 on the Nexus 7 2012, otherwise you may want to wait.

The Nexus 7 2012 Android Lollipop performance is sporadic with lags between button presses and action on the screen that range from acceptable to annoying. It is not clear what causes the slow down to take place, but it can be quite frustrating.

It is possible to downgrade from Android Lollipop to Android KitKat, but it is not a process that every user wants to go through. Still it is good to know that if things get bad, you can go back to the way it was before the update.

For most users, it is worth waiting a few more days to see if there are any major problems with the Nexus 7 2012 Android Lollipop update.

Android 5.0 vs Android 4.4 Walkthrough: What’s New in Lollipop

Android 5.0 vs Android 4.4 - Lockscreen

 1 / 13
Android 5.0 vs Android 4.4 - Lockscreen

 With Android 5.0 Lollipop Google has slightly improved the lockscreen. There's now a shortcut to the dialer by swiping left to right, and notifications are more useful and interactive. Shown right on the lockscreen they can be swiped away, slide down to expand, or double tap to instantly unlock right into that app or notification. Everything is simple and smooth, and we still have full-screen album artwork on the lockscreen while playing music.

The quick shortcuts and improved notifications will come in handy for all users.

 1 / 13