GBM How-To Series # 20 : Disabling the Vista Delete Confirmation Nag

gbm_howto_1 Pet peeve time. I know it’s for my own good, but I get really annoyed when I am asked to confirm the deletion of a file. I mean, the OS might as well ask me ” do you really, really want to delete this”? “Are really sure”? As a matter of routine I suppose it does server the purpose of keeping me out of trouble, but there are many times when I wish to be left alone to cleanup a drive without the nags. This how-to will show you the simple way to turn the confirmation option on and off. Remember, if you use this, do so at your own risk. If you forget to turn it back on, it could get you into trouble… this one’s really easy.

GBM How-To Series # 20 : Disabling the Vista Delete Confirmation Nag


Simply Right-Click on your Recycle Bin and select Properties.

In the Trash Properties window that comes up, look at the bottom for the “Display delete confirmation dialog”. To turn off the nags, make sure that this option is turned off.



There you have it, my kind of “How-To”. Short, simple, easy to remember and when you need it, sweet!


Just remember to turn it back on when you are finished!

Technorati Tags: , ,