Clicky

Dropbox for iPhone Adds Automatic Photo Uploading

By  |  3 Comments

iPhone users who rely on Dropbox no longer have to worry about their friends with Android having a much better Dropbox app. The latest version of Dropbox for iOS adds the ability to automatically upload photos to the cloud storage service.

According to Engadget, the new Dropbox for iOS 1.5 offers the ability to automatically upload photos and video over WiFi and cellular data. The app uploads the photos to a new folder in the cloud storage service. Users that already use the desktop app to automatically upload photos from their iOS device don’t need to worry about duplicates. The app is smart enough to know which photos were already uploaded to Dropbox.

Users that choose to automatically upload photos to Dropbox will get an additional 3GB of data. Dropbox offers the storage space in increments of 500MB at a time. It’d be cool if the service offered users the extra storage all at once, but users that upload a lot of photos should get the full amount easily.

The app offers users the chance to view the uploaded photos in a standard list view in the main section of the app. The Uploads section of the app also offers a gallery mode like the Photos app in the iPhone. The gallery takes a few seconds to load new photos depending on the speed of the network. Unlike the Photos app, the Dropbox app shows photos in reverse-chronological order so newer photos are at the top.

Unfortunately iPhone users still don’t have the option to stream videos through Dropbox like Android 4.0 users. That feature would be nice to have, but the feature won’t be as useful until we see an iPhone 5 with 4G LTE.

Shawn is a tech junkie who spends most of his time reading and writing about it. You can follow him on Twitter, @shawn_i.

3 Comments

  1. Nikhil

    06/19/2012 at 3:01 am

    I updated my iphone app to latest 1.5.1 which allows auto upload and choose to sync all.
    Surprisingly all 1050 photos and videos started getting sync, most of them were already sync through my PC.
    I was almost confident that while showing progress it is showing more numbers but will eventually skip the duplicates.but it didn’t.
    Now i have on my PC all duplicates with file nos as
    “2012-03-24 06.56.59 HDR.jpg”,”2012-03-24 06.56.59 HDR-1.jpg” etc

  2. Jimmy

    01/03/2013 at 4:34 pm

    how to stop this autosync thing? it didn’t even ask me if i wanted to or not.

  3. betepolitique

    06/11/2013 at 9:29 am

    you can disable it from within the Dropbox app, look for Camara Upload.
    And it should have asked you during installation, maybe you answered too quickly!

Leave a Reply