Microsoft Will Show Xbox One Games, Not TV At E3 Press Conference

While the Xbox One reveal dismayed some gamers with the big focus on TV, Microsoft won’t talk about TV at its E3 press conference, focusing on games instead.

As Kotaku reported Microsoft’s Larry “Major Nelson” Hryb did his best to reassure games on Twitter today, saying “I can confirm that we will have TV’s (or similar) on stage to show the games.That should be the extend of TV talk in your #E3.” The comment came after a gamer said they wouldn’t watch the Microsoft E3 press conference if it was all TV and no games.

Read: Microsoft Xbox One vs Sony PlayStation 4

Xbox One

Before the Xbox One reveal Microsoft said it would show off games at E3, which left the hour-long reveal to talk about the console and its media features. It seems the company separated out the hour of the press conference gamers typically hate so it had more time for games at the expo.

Microsoft promised that it will have 15 exclusive games for the Xbox One in the first year of the console’s life. It will likely show off at least a few of those games during the E3 press conference.

Interestingly, Geoff Keighley of Game Trailers said on Twitter today that both Microsoft and Sony will have “lots of games and surprises.” He said “based on what I’m hearing both the Xbox and PS4 press confs will be the strongest in years.”

Sony’s major focus with the PlayStation 4 is to make it a great game console first, which likely means even more game announcements for the console at E3. Keighley’s tweet seems to confirm that.

E3 starts on June 10 with Microsoft’s press conference at 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET. Sony’s press conference is later in the day at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET, with press conferences from EA Games and Ubisoft in between. More so than previous years, it seems the first day of E3 2013 will feature a deluge of new game announcements.

  

Leave a Reply