Connect with us


First Mortal Kombat X Add-On Details Arrive



It wasn’t too long ago that fighting game Mortal Kombat X arrived on the Xbox One and PS4. Despite that Warner Brothers and developer NetherRealm Studios is already gearing up for its first big Mortal Kombat X content update. This morning Warner Brothers announced that Mortal Kombat X Kombat Pass owners will get access to Jason Voorhees beginning tomorrow, May 5th.

If the Jason Voorhees character coming to Mortal Kombat X players tomorrow looks familiar it’s because he’s terrified horror film goes for years. Voorhees will come equipped with two Mortal Kombat X Fatalities and a single X-Ray move, just like other characters in the game, according to video game website GameInformer.

Mortal Kombat X PS4

Read: Mortal Kombat X Release Brings Controversy

The Mortal Kombat X Kombat Pass is a $29.99 extra that owners of the game purchase to supplement what’s already available in the title. Really, the Kombat Pass is a Season Pass, giving you guaranteed access to any downloadable content that’s released for the game after launch.  Besides Voorhees, there’s three more characters coming to those who purchased the Kombat Pass: Tanya, Predator and Tremor. Predator is another longtime character ripped from featured length films.

To be clear, purchasing a Mortal Kombat X Kombat Pass is the cheapest way to get all the add-ons Warner Brothers and NetherRealm has planned, but it isn’t the only way. The content contained in the Kombat Pass is broken down into individual packs with their own theme and pricing. Jason is a part of the Mortal Kombat X Ultimate Horror Pack. The Ultimate Horror Pack also includes the Vampiress Mileena skin, Kraken Reptile Skin and Pharaoh Ermac skin. Users can get those skins and Voorhees together for $7.99 beginning tomorrow. Vorhees is also available as a standalone purchase for $4.99. The individual character skins are available by themselves for $3.99, which isn’t too bad considering they are new takes on characters already featured in the game.

Mortal Kombat X has better graphics and new features, but it’s still the same concept from past entries in the franchise. A new story mode has players once again fighting for the fate of humanity as mythical forces from another realm seek to enslave humans once and for all. As the campaign starts, you’re in a helicopter on your way to provide much-needed aid. That plan falls apart pretty quickly, setting the tone for the rest of the story.

Mortal Kombat X wouldn’t be anything without multiplayer and gore. This game has both. New Fatalities for each playable character manage to be more gruesome than anything else we’ve seen in the series thus far, and that’s an accomplishment considering the game’s reputation. Better graphics make all the blood and death you see in the game feel that much more real. GottaBeMobile compiled a list of all the Fatalities included in Mortal Kombat X thus far. That list will get an update with these new character’s Fatalities once they’re publicly known.

Read: How to Do Every Fatality in Mortal Kombat X So Far

Unfortunately, tomorrow’s Mortal Kombat X Ultimate Horror Pack release is only good news for a certain subset of the game’s audience. Mortal Kombat X launched on the Xbox One and PS4 last month, but it’s Xbox 360 and PS3 counterparts were delayed. For now, we only know that Warner Brothers has plans to release the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions of Mortal Kombat X sometime this summer. We don’t know exactly when that release date will be. We also don’t know if people who purchase those versions of the game will have the option to purchase the Ultimate Horror Pack immediately when the game launches instead of waiting like Xbox One and PS4 users did.

New copies of Mortal Kombat X are $60 for the Xbox One and PS3 without the extra Kombat Pass at GameStop. The Xbox 360 and PS3 versions of the game will cost the same.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.