The Find My iPhone feature is used for locating lost iPhones and iPads. It is automatically enabled by all iPhones running iOS 9. There is a setting under iCloud on the iPhone itself to turn off the service, but there are other ways to disable the service. This guide will show you how to turn off Find My iPhone from a Mac or PC.
While the Find My iPhone service is a very helpful tool for those who have lost an iPhone it sometimes is a nuisance to disable.
One of the major reasons that a user may need to disable Find My iPhone is if they have forgotten the passcode to their iPhone. With this service enabled there is no way for the user to restore their phone.
Another reason that someone might need to disable Find My iPhone is if they gave the phone to a friend or relative and forgot to delete their data off it first.
By taking a few easy steps you can easily disable Find My iPhone from any computer. All that is required to disable the service is your Apple ID, and turning off the iPhone that you wish to remove it from.
If you accidentally purchased an iPhone that still has this enabled, this will not help you reset it. You will need to ask the original owner to follow these instructions.
How to Turn Off Find My iPhone
The very first step in disabling Find My iPhone is to turn Off the iPhone or iPad. After the iPhone is turned off, go to iCloud.com and sign in with your Apple ID.
After signing in, click Find My iPhone and select All Devices.
Under the All Devices tab, select the iPhone that you are planning to remove from the list. The device should appear offline, if the iPhone still appears online refresh the page and check that is the correct device you want to remove. After clicking on the iPhone from the list of devices, Click Remove From Account.
Tap Remove to delete the iPhone from Find My iPhone in iCloud.
After the device has been removed the only your other devices that are online should appear in the Find My iPhone list.
It is important to note that after removing the device from Find My iPhone you can no longer track it. By removing the device you also cannot erase the iPhone’s data, or have sounds and messages sent to it. If you have restored your iPhone from a backup there may be additional iPhone’s in the all devices list, it is safe to remove them as long as they appear offline.
This article may contain affiliate links. Click here for more details.