Home Apps How to Stop Sharing Your Location on Snapchat

How to Stop Sharing Your Location on Snapchat

4 min read
2
16
Stop sharing your Snapchat location in Snap Maps or limit who can see it.

The new Snapchat Snap Map is a way to see where your friends are, but it is a problem for some parents and users who are not excited that the app shares your location anytime you open Snapchat. That means the Snap Maps feature doesn’t just share your location when you send out a Snap at a cool event or the coffee shop, it also does this when you are browsing snaps at home.

We already showed you how to use Snap Maps, but if you set this up and decided that you don’t want to share your real-time location anytime you open the Snapchat app, this will show you how to turn it off, or only share with specific people. Parents can check these settings to make sure kids aren’t sharing their location with too many people.

The Snap Maps feature only shares your location with your Snapchat friends, but many Snapchat users are friends with random people and other users they find interesting. It’s very likely that there are people you don’t really know on your Snapchat or on your kids’ Snapchat friends lists.

How to Stop Snapchat Location Sharing

Stop sharing your Snapchat location in Snap Maps or limit who can see it.
Stop sharing your Snapchat location in Snap Maps or limit who can see it.

There are two options to stop sharing your location on Snapchat. It’s easy to use the features and you can control a lot of it. It would be nice if Snap Maps didn’t share your location when you opened the app, but since that’s how it works, you will likely want to change your location sharing settings.

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Pinch to Zoom, which opens the Snap Map.
  3. Tap on the settings cog in the upper right with a location marker on it.
  4. Switch to Ghost Mode.

In Ghost Mode, you will not share your location with anyone on Snapchat. You can look at where other people are and at areas of major Snapchat activity, but you will not share your location.

For many users, the Select Friends option is a better option. This will allow you to only share your location with specific friends that you know and are OK with knowing your exact location anytime you open Snapchat.

Although it may seem nefarious, this new Snapchat feature includes all the controls that you need to make sure your location is only shared with people you trust. The options are straightforward and easy enough to find that users and parents can make informed decisions about location sharing in Snap Maps easily.

2 Comments

  1. […] How to Stop Sharing Your Location on Snapchat is a post by Josh Smith from Gotta Be Mobile. […]

    Reply

  2. […] With the new Snapchat Ghost Mode, you can turn off your location sharing for 3 hours, 24 hours or until you decide to share it again. This is in the Snapchat Snap Map settings, and it only takes a second to turn on. Here’s how to use Ghost Mode to hide on Snapchat maps. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *