Nexus 5 Lollipop Update: 5 Things You Need to Know

Last week, Google started rolling out its initial batch of Nexus Android 5.0 Lollipop updates including the long awaited Nexus 5 Lollipop update. This is the first major Android update for the Nexus 5, a device that serves as a budget alternative to Google’s Nexus 6. With Google’s Nexus 5 Lollipop release picking up steam, we want to take a look at some of the important things you need to know about the release and the update itself.

Back in October, Google announced a number of new products including a Nexus 6 smartphone from Motorola, a Nexus 9 tablet from HTC, and an Android 5.0 Lollipop update for the Nexus 4, Nexus 7, Nexus 10, and Nexus 5. It also confirmed Android 5.0 Lollipop for its stable of Google Play Edition devices. At the time, the company said that the updates would begin rolling out in the “coming weeks” without elaboration.

Nexus 5 Problem

Earlier this month, Google’s Nexus Android 5.0 Lollipop release date finally arrived for select Nexus users including owners of the Nexus 5, Nexus 4, Nexus 10 and Nexus 7. The update, one of the biggest in the history of the Android operating system, takes Nexus users from Android 4.4.4 KitKat to Android 5.0 Lollipop and it delivers a number of new features including the update’s new Material Design.

It’s an exciting time to be a Nexus user and more specifically, a Nexus 5 user. Android 5.0 Lollipop represents the first major Android update for the Nexus 5 and it’s a big one. I’ve been using the Nexus 5 for more than a year now, I bought it when it first came out to replace my Galaxy Nexus, and it remains one of my all time favorite smartphones.

Yesterday, after a bit of a wait, Android 5.0 Lollipop showed up in my notifications. After some prep work, I downloaded and installed Google’s brand new Android update, making the big move from Android 4.4 KitKat to Android 5.0 Lollipop for the first time. With that in mind, I want to take a look at five things I think my fellow Nexus 5 users need to know about the Nexus 5 Android 5.0 Lollipop update and its release.

Nexus 5 Android 5.0 Lollipop Update Rolling Out

The first thing that Nexus 5 users need to know is that the Nexus 5 Android 5.0 Lollipop update appears to be rolling out in full force. My update appeared at the tail end of the afternoon yesterday and I’ve heard from several other Nexus 5 owners who say that they too got their update yesterday. The timing makes a lot of sense given that it’s been nearly a week since Google started pushing its updates out.


If you haven’t gotten a notification yet, you should go into your Nexus 5’s settings and manually check for the update. Do this a couple of times a day and you should get a prompt in the near future. It’s clear that the update is making a strong push right now and my guess is that if you haven’t received the Android 5.0 update yet, you’ll probably get it soon.

Nexus 5 Android 5.0 Lollipop Installation

Apple’s major iOS updates are always a pain to download and install. That’s because the company pushes all of its updates out at the same time, clogging up its servers. Google’s staggered approach might be a lot slower but it’s something I’ve come to appreciate because it typically doesn’t come with the same installation issues.


The Nexus 5 Android 5.0 Lollipop file is nearly 500MB in size though the download and installation process was quick and painless. It took just about 19 minutes or so to get the update on board. Now, keep in mind, that was over an extremely fast Wi-Fi connection. I also didn’t have to delete or move any files to free up the 500MB on space it needs to successfully install.

If I were you, I’d wait for the OTA. Many of the Android 5.0 problems we’re seeing come from Nexus users who decided to try and manually install the Android 5.0 Lollipop update. Sideloading is great if you know what you’re doing. Problem is, many people don’t. The OTA installation process is fast and straightforward and you’ll get the update on board your Nexus 5 in no time. Just remain patient.

Android 5.0 Lollipop Performance

After using Android 4.4 KitKat for close to a year, I became used to a few things from a performance standpoint. I got very used to the Nexus 5’s speed and reliability. The Nexus 5 has always been a very fast phone and it’s always delivered high quality connectivity. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth especially have always been extremely solid. I also had a pretty good run with applications. I’ve had far more problems on my iPhones. Apps have been very stable on my Nexus 5.

Nexus 5 battery life has always been mediocre. I’ve said it from the beginning and I’ve had a lot of people agree with me. It could have been much better. So, my hope has always been that whatever was next (Android 5.0 Lollipop) would deliver some battery enhancements to shore up one of my biggest complaints about one of the my favorite smartphones ever made.


I’ve had Lollipop on my Nexus 5 for less than 24 hours but so far, the software is treating my Nexus 5 very well. Connectivity is still very strong and reliable (I was able to connect to my Moto 360 with ease, right off the bat), all of my core applications are working properly, and above all, my Nexus 5 is still extremely fast. In fact, Android 5.0 Lollipop feels lighter and faster than Android 4.4 KitKat. It’s smooth and I’ve yet to encounter any sluggishness. That’s huge for an update of this magnitude.

It’s hard to put my finger on battery life right now. It seems good, I’ve been using my Nexus 5 extensively over the past two hours and I’ve dropped down to about 85%, but it’s tough to make a call after a few hours of use. One thing I will say is that I immediately flipped Battery Saver on after getting Android 5.0 Lollipop on board. So far, so good. We’ll see where we’re at in a week though.

Android 5.0 Lollipop Features

Android 5.0 Lollipop delivers a number of new features (battery saver is one of them) to Nexus 5 users and the biggest is probably Google’s new Material Design that changes the look and feel of the Android operating system. Settings, the navigation buttons, Google Now cards, just about everything has a new look to it. It’s definitely going to take some getting used to which is why, in the build up to the Android 5.0 release, I told you to start looking into these changes. A little research has made the transition much easier.

The new lock screen also looks like it’s going to be extremely useful. I’ve definitely toned down the notifications that appear on the home screen (also known as Priority Mode) and I also immediately started responding to messages directly from the screen itself. These are nice little touches that are already growing on me. The new Quick Settings is going to be another feature that I use constantly.


While I haven’t been able to put it through any serious paces yet, the Nexus 5’s camera does seem to get better with all of the new tweaks and features that Google’s delivered with Android 5.0 Lollipop. The camera was one of my least favorite features but Android 5.0 Lollipop and its improvements have filled me with hope.

Android 5.0’s biggest change, for me, has been the design. And while it’s going to take some getting used to, I’ve already started using many of its new features, a testament to Google who clearly focused on features people actually care about: Easy access to heavily used features, battery life, and notifications.

Should You Install Android 5.0 Right Now?

If you’re dealing with major issues on Android 4.4 KitKat, I would consider downloading Android 5.0 Lollipop. In addition to these new features, Android 5.0 Lollipop also comes with a number of bug fixes aimed at shoring up the Android operating system. I didn’t notice a ton of bugs on Android 4.4 but what I can say is that Android 5.0 Lollipop is extremely stable at the moment.

Nexus 5 side

If you’re on Android 4.4 and not experiencing any issues, I would wait a few days to let the smoke settle. Bugs and issues typically crawl out in the days and weeks after an update’s release and if you’re at all nervous, be patient and wait until Friday or so. Android 5.0’s features are great but they aren’t going anywhere any time soon.

Remember, you don’t need to install this update right now. In fact, some of you probably shouldn’t install the Android 5.0 Lollipop on the Nexus 5. At least not right now.


  1. nb

    11/19/2014 at 3:55 am

    I wil wait to update nexus 5 to lollipop


  2. ona Valdivia

    11/19/2014 at 10:45 am

    I update my nexus 5 but I have a star on my icons symbols…any thoughts what it is?


  3. dianelanthier

    11/19/2014 at 10:50 am

    I just updated mine and it screwed up my email – email is now through gmail and is no longer syncing with my email!


  4. amr

    11/19/2014 at 11:05 am

    For god’s sake the update still didnt arrive on my nexus 5!!!


  5. ona Valdivia

    11/19/2014 at 11:09 am

    Ur better off not updating for now.. Just realized I lost a fee apps that I can’t find on the play store….


  6. Nina

    11/19/2014 at 12:16 pm

    I got the update and my camera doesn’t work I don’t have a gallery can’t get on Snapchat that SUCKS


  7. Fiji james

    11/19/2014 at 2:03 pm

    U can synce ur email…just follow the instructions…only thing is the camera captivity screen has reduced…that’s something bothers me a lot…anybody knows how to change it…


  8. Gloria

    11/19/2014 at 3:58 pm

    since updating my nexus 5 ..apps dont work properly.. they crash,,i cant access pictures in gallery it closes battery is draing faster,,i dont have in app sounds,,i m very upset !!! please fix it fastly or find a way to remove it off nexus mobiles ..this is crazy .. thyre exspensive phones & now we not able to use tham !!!


  9. JoAnna

    11/19/2014 at 4:30 pm

    Where did my pic gallery go?


  10. sm

    11/19/2014 at 5:59 pm

    All your pics will be under photos now I think


  11. njain

    11/19/2014 at 9:38 pm

    My camera doesn’t work and I can’t find gallery.. Pls tell me what to do


  12. s crown

    11/19/2014 at 10:45 pm

    I wish i hadn’t updated!


    • mark gryzwa

      11/23/2014 at 3:06 pm

      This update is just terrible for my Nexus 10. The device has been rendered just about useless. It is terribly laggy and crashes repeatedly. Even Chrome has trouble staying alive. I want kit-kat back or a replacement tablet. This is just terrible.


      • mark gryzwa

        11/26/2014 at 6:50 am

        After going thru a backup and reset (which removed all my apps including AirWatch) my tablet is now highly functional again. I reinstalled all my apps from backup except AirWatch and things seem to be working.


  13. brianna

    11/19/2014 at 11:08 pm

    since the updat my phone has crashed twice and snapchat videos dont seem to work anymore… and i cant use alot of apps they autimaticaly crash when i open them and i no longer have a gallery and the photos is the most annoying to use considering it doesnt organize your photos like gallery did but other than that i sort of like the update its very modern



    11/20/2014 at 1:34 am

    I too miss my gallery.


  15. MAGnum

    11/20/2014 at 1:41 am

    You’re gallery is in photos. Tap on the menu in the upper left hand corner, 3 lines, and select “on device.” Then you can see and have access to your photos on the device itself.


  16. akash patel

    11/20/2014 at 1:55 am

    Its not showing an gallery


  17. nb

    11/20/2014 at 12:46 pm

    still I guess need to wait before updating


  18. Upendra

    11/20/2014 at 1:04 pm

    I had received the update. Tried to download . But since I was roaming file was not able to download . And now I am not even getting the notification for upfate available as earlier. How to resolve this.


  19. tony

    11/20/2014 at 3:27 pm

    Since downloading the 5.0 to my nexus 7 I have had nothing but trouble. I get kicked off Facebook and returns to homepage…it’s slower…how can I reset to factory or a m I stuck with this program?


  20. JS

    11/20/2014 at 4:12 pm

    I hate the f*^king update. Forces everything through gmail. I now will just throw my phone away. pure bullshit


  21. Denny

    11/20/2014 at 4:48 pm

    I updated to 5.0 lollipop on mine but now I can’t play some games/apps I was playing before the update. How can I fix this?


  22. shaan

    11/21/2014 at 4:38 am

    I updated my phone and there is a lot of problems in this update, gallery is not available and and video player is also not available.


  23. foo

    11/21/2014 at 6:10 am

    Never have so many words been used to say so little.


  24. Luis V

    11/21/2014 at 9:46 am

    I updated my Nexus 5 to Lollipop and my camera and other apps that consider using my camera is not working. Please help..


  25. brianna

    11/21/2014 at 10:10 am

    ialso cant delete large quantities of pictures through the photos app and when i try to share something to instagram through the photos app it just takes me to the home screen ?


  26. Bryan king

    11/21/2014 at 4:11 pm

    Please, fix bugs that cause my apps to crash and make them work improperly. Biggest let down is chrome no longer loads images. This is not an improvement. Much slower and vastly ineffective. I would like to revert to my old settings. This makes work difficult and my mobile life intolerable.


  27. Jamie

    11/21/2014 at 6:23 pm

    Is there a way to uninstall the new system and go back to the old system?


  28. Deepak

    11/21/2014 at 8:55 pm

    Lollipop update is not at all good. Please do not update. Many apps crashed.


  29. Kendra

    11/22/2014 at 8:48 am

    I’m having trouble with my text messages. The ones I send don’t show up for me to see so I have no clue if they send, some of my contacts’ names aren’t showing up, just their numbers (even though they’re still in my contacts” and its SO SLOW!! Ugh… why did I update??


  30. renuka

    11/22/2014 at 9:19 am

    There is a star symbol appears next to the network symbol…why is that ? What should I do to get rid of it….nexus 5 …update of android 5 is done… Please help.


  31. Janet

    11/22/2014 at 10:27 am

    Not a new issue but on my nexus 5the apps seem to move about on their own. I sort them out, then they move looking untidy and unhelpful. I suspect it may be something to do with prioritising according to use. Is there as way to stop it doing it do you think? Its like moving the letters on a keyboard around based on the last word you typed.



  32. Simone

    11/22/2014 at 12:05 pm

    The only thing I have noticed is one game, Atlantis Adventure was gone and I was unable to download. Probably some divine intervention as well bc I spent too much time distracted by it. A lil different layout @how open apps are overlapped instead of separate. I really like being able to open msg from lock screen


  33. peter

    11/23/2014 at 12:24 am

    Since updating to lollipop on nexus 5 several apps don’t work need help


  34. flick merauld

    11/23/2014 at 6:07 am

    I forced the ota via Google Framework (just as i now discover you are warned not to do). But everything has been fine. Phone is snappy, fast, smooth. The battery is definitely improved, though has yet to match the superb 24 hours worth when i first installed Lollipop, when i hammered the phone playing with everything, and it took ages to drop below 30$ and trugger battery saving mode. I’ve only recently come over to Android from IOS (I needed a bigger screen and couldn’t afford a new iPhone), so i only had a few weeks to assess Kitkat on my Nexus 5, but i would say Lollipop is an improvement and looks so much better. i don’t actually mind the white app drawer that people have been complaining about. This is one of my favourite phones ever, and it just got better.


  35. flick merauld

    11/23/2014 at 6:10 am

    that was meant to be 30% and trugger battery saving – can’t type and no way to edit…sorry!


  36. flick merauld

    11/23/2014 at 6:11 am

    trigger – aaaggghhh


  37. Rita

    11/23/2014 at 10:16 am

    This update screwed my phone ! Any solutions ?
    All my apps are not working (viber, tango,instagram..) And even the camera cant initialize. Epic Fail google !


  38. Anuj

    11/23/2014 at 3:16 pm

    I am not getting the auto rotate icon in the drop down menu, any idea how to get it? While if i change the user to guest it comes there.


  39. Erik Klerckx

    11/24/2014 at 3:05 am

    Since I updated my Nexus Five to Lollipop 5.0 (instead of KitKat 4.4), I haven very poor (read low) sound when I have a phonecall conversation. I can hardly hear the talking back. Is that a result of the upgrade, should I change something? Also the RealVolume Booster does not work properly and does not a automatic reboot


  40. brian

    11/24/2014 at 8:11 am

    I am not impressed with this update. Email doesn’t sync anymore, have to go through gmail, Facebook is slow and sluggish to respond after backing out of tabs that opened through Facebook, and where is my gallery? I am not liking what they have done with photo storage location now.


  41. nb

    11/24/2014 at 9:28 am

    People who wants to downgrade to Android 4.4 back…… Follow below link. I will still wait to upgradet to Andriod 5.0


  42. nb

    11/24/2014 at 11:47 am

    Please use above link at own risk, as I see the comments on the link and some people are facing problems in downgrade. I have not done it by my own yet. Just thought to update this.


  43. Shy

    11/24/2014 at 11:31 pm

    Yes.. thanks for info.. this help guys..


  44. claire

    11/26/2014 at 6:18 am

    Hi , since the download, my gallery app disappeared, the battery drains very quickly compared to before,some of my apps are now not working.

    Please fix this problem soonest…!!!1


  45. osama

    11/26/2014 at 9:07 am

    My nexus 5 hangs alot after I updated to 5.0.
    Kindly tell me what shall I do to?


  46. farah

    11/27/2014 at 2:44 am

    I install lollipop in my nexus 5,its OK but my connectivity changes to G3 and l loose my battery 2 time per day!it has no chance for changing,what should I do?


  47. Terry

    11/27/2014 at 5:37 am

    How do I uninstall Lollipop from my Nexus 4 phone?


  48. farhan

    11/29/2014 at 1:08 am

    When I installed android 5.0my mobile is note working its nexus 4


  49. krystin

    12/04/2014 at 9:28 am

    I haven’t really had issues with update, but I now have a star symbol with my system icons by my Wi-Fi symbol. Does anyone know what this is or how to remove it????


  50. Adam

    12/17/2014 at 11:48 am

    There have been many reports of a memory leak with lollipop on the nexus 5 device.


  51. bemurphy3244

    01/02/2015 at 6:29 am

    Since update, my Nexus 5 is so slow to do anything including the keyboard. Worst is that Facebook continually stops working. So frustrating. Please fix!


  52. Anonymous

    01/06/2015 at 11:22 am

    Still didn’t get lollipop update in my nexus device. What to do ?


  53. Vibhor

    01/07/2015 at 3:03 am

    The star symol simply means that your phone is on priority mode. Just press (increase or decrease) the volume button and press “All”. The priority mode will be disabled and so will your star be gone too.


  54. Sandysine

    01/16/2015 at 2:08 pm

    There is a stop sign 🚫 on the right top bar. What is this mean??? My phone has signal I can still make calls.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *