How to Undo a Sent iMessage on iPhone

If you accidentally sent an iMessage to someone and want to undo it, here’s a way to do that on your iPhone.

I’m sure we’ve all been there before: You type out a message and then send it, but realize right after you send it that you forgot to include a detail or realize that you probably shouldn’t have sent that nasty message in the first place.

Advertisement

In fact, if you’re reading this now, there’s a chance that this has happened to you and you’re looking for a way to protect yourself in the future.

Luckily, there’s a way to undo a sent iMessage hopefully before it actually delivers to your recipient.

When you send an iMessage, it take a few seconds before the sending actually occurs, depending on your WiFi or LTE connection. It take even longer for photos and videos to send through iMessage. During that short amount of time, you can actually undo the message from being sent as long as it doesn’t officially get sent and delivered to your recipient.

Advertisement

In any case, here’s how to undo a sent iMessage or text message on your iPhone hopefully before it gets delivered to the other side.

Advertisement

Undo a Sent iMessage

The process for undoing a sent iMessage or text message on the iPhone is really easy and quick to do, but you have to be quick on your feet in order to do it properly, as it only takes a couple of seconds for an iMessage to officially send and get delivered.

iphone-imessage-undo-send-3

To undo a message that you sent, simply swipe up from the bottom of the screen to bring up Control Center and quickly enable Airplane Mode. This will cut off all signals going to and from your iPhone, which will make it impossible for the message to send, and you’ll eventually get a “Not Delivered” message in red.

iphone-imessage-undo-send-1

Advertisement

When you hit the send button on an iMessage or text message, you only have a couple of seconds to activate Airplane Mode, so you have to be quick for sure. If you’re sending a picture or a video, you have a bit longer to enable Airplane Mode.

iphone-imessage-undo-send-2

After you receive the red exclamation mark and “Not Delivered,” you can tap and hold down on the message and then select More. From there, hit the trash can icon to delete the message. You’ll want to make sure that you don’t skip this step, because once you disable Airplane Mode and your iPhone gets its signal back, it will attempt to send the message again.

Other iMessage Tricks

iMessage is more than just a messaging platform to text your friends. It can do a whole lot more, like sending audio messages and even sharing your location so friends know where to meet you.

To send an instant audio message in iMessage, tap and hold on the small microphone icon to the right of the text box and it will automatically start recording.

Advertisement

When you’re done recording the audio message, lift up your finger and you’ll be able to delete the audio message or send it (the X icon will delete the message and the arrow pointing upwards will send it). You can also tap and hold to record your message and then immediately swipe up to instantly send it, or swipe left to delete the message and start over.

iMessage also allows you to share your location with a friend, which can be great for when you’re meeting up with someone and don’t want to explain where you are or how they can get there.

Advertisement

imessage-audio

Simply tap on Details in a conversation and you’ll see two options: Share My Current Location and Share My Location. Selecting Share My Current Location will send your current location. It’s important to note that this is a one-time instance, so if you move to another location, iMessage won’t keep updating your friend with your new location.

Instead, you can use Share My Location, which will bring up more options as far as how long you want to share your location, and iMessage will continue to update it whenever you move to a new location.

One other handy trick that many users could take advantage of is the ability to mute certain contacts. If you’re wanting to mute notifications for certain contacts but want to make sure that you still receive notifications from other important people, you can mute notifications for certain friends. Simply just open up their conversation window, tap on Details, and then enable Do Not Disturb.