Connect with us
[adinserter block="2"]

Apple

iOS 9.2 Review: Should You Install?

Published

on

iPhone 5 iOS 9.2 Review

iPhone 5 iOS 9.2 Review

The iOS 9.1 update was like magic for the iPhone 5. Prior to its release, we had been experiencing major issues with the update's speed. UI lag was common and it felt like the beginning of the end for the flagship from 2012.

iOS 9.1 restored our faith in the device. It didn't fix everything but at least it helped the phone become usable again by eliminating most of the UI issues afflicting our iPhone 5.

We've spent several weeks with the iPhone 5 iOS 9.2 update and it remains solid on the now three year old smartphone.

iOS 9.2 isn't perfect. Let's get that out of the way. We continue to see lag with Control Center, the keyboard and when opening certain applications. But that's manageable and understandable given the device's old age. This is a fossil we're dealing with. 

The update excels in other areas though. Connectivity is still strong after all of these years (and after several weeks with iOS 9.2). Battery life isn't as good as the iPhone 6/iPhone 6s but we've been able to milk a whole day out of it. (The important thing of course is that we haven't run into any weird drain.)

Our apps are doing just fine and we haven't encountered any notable issues. All of the problems we've seen are related to speed. Some iPhone 5 users are running into other problems but those problems appear to be isolated. 

If you're already on iOS 9 and you're having problems, we recommend iOS 9.2 for its features, fixes and security patches. If you're coming from something older like iOS 8, you'll want to be extremely careful with iOS 9.2. 

This is the best iOS 9 update yet for the iPhone 5 but you'll still want to prepare.

28 Comments

28 Comments

  1. Antoniopreed

    12/17/2015 at 7:43 am

    1=07 my roomate’s ex-wife makes $65 hourly on the laptop . She has been out of work for 9 months but last month her pay check was $19510 just working on the laptop for a few hours.
    why not look here… See More

  2. Al G.

    12/17/2015 at 8:54 am

    I’ve seen the lag you mention on my iphone 5s with 9.2 installed. It’s not mad slow but for the first time I am experiencing some lag at times when pulling up Control center and oddly when opening camera I get a black screen for a sec or two before the camera displays and image in view. Others than that my 5s battery life, and performance is still good for an aging device.

  3. Ben

    12/20/2015 at 4:36 am

    I updated my 6s three days ago and it’s pretty annoying the network signal keeps losing ! I have to restart my phone for two or three times !!!!!! Until now! And the battery.. Well, theres no surprise there. This will be my last iphone. Oh ive done all those fix mentioned all over the net and it’s still the same!

  4. Ioana

    12/21/2015 at 2:44 am

    on an iphone 5s, after updating to ios 9.2 i will lose data?

  5. Jb

    12/21/2015 at 4:50 am

    I have the same problem, my wifi is fine but i always get this no service on my network issue. Restart all over again. Why?!

  6. David Kavic

    12/21/2015 at 5:36 am

    So all in all the iPad Mini 2 is being left in the dust despite being a very popular item this season. With an A7 and 1gb ram on iOS there shouldn’t be any lag issues. I might take the gamble and upgrade only because I have a brand new one with barely anything installed on it.

  7. What?

    12/24/2015 at 12:32 am

    I dont understand why im always getting a no service on my network! My iphone6s is bnew but i updated to the ios 9.2 and this gives me the trouble!!!!!!!

  8. Howard Myers

    12/25/2015 at 6:11 am

    Have iPhone 6 should I install iOS 9.2

  9. Jeannie

    12/26/2015 at 6:03 am

    I cannot find CROP feature in iOS 9.2 for photos.

    • Charlie Reckless

      03/15/2016 at 4:11 pm

      Did you ever figure ot out?

  10. jack hole

    12/27/2015 at 6:08 pm

    do not update!!! there are already enough stresses without 9.2 updates. network keeps losing signal. if you have not update, DONT !!!! not recommended. Also pse make sure your next mobile is not a iphone!!!

  11. Mark

    12/29/2015 at 7:22 am

    I tried to update to 9.2 and got the dreaded 4005 error! Now I’ve wasted and hour trying to restore and fix my phone!

  12. willy

    12/31/2015 at 12:47 am

    after i update my ios to 9.2 my camera wont work, still can take picture but wont save to photo album. i do screen shoot also not appear at my photo album. i delete my old photo, but its still there. i’m so disappointed with this new ios

  13. Ico Alexiev

    01/02/2016 at 6:13 am

    Apple are morons!

  14. Jackie

    01/02/2016 at 10:18 am

    Where is wallet after update??
    So I can’t pay now??

  15. J. Chua

    01/04/2016 at 6:00 am

    my ipad mini 4 begins to have a keyboard lag with the ios9.2 installed. Even writing this comment gives me a headache.

  16. Carol

    01/04/2016 at 10:15 pm

    I updated my ipad and its soooo slow now. It also keeps crashing randomly. I hate it!

  17. Chris

    01/05/2016 at 12:40 am

    Omg i thought im the only one having problem with ios 9.2 whew! I have this no service issue since i updated to this frakin ios 9.2, it is disgusting! My 6s is barely two weeks old!

  18. Trooper_747

    01/07/2016 at 1:51 pm

    Iphone 6 does not discover wifi networks after updating to ios 9.2. Tried all possible fixes only to achieve temporary solutions. hope 9.2.1 will fix this issue.

  19. Elce

    01/08/2016 at 4:56 am

    Sounds like NOT installing 9.2 is a good idea, at least for me.

  20. N

    01/08/2016 at 7:43 am

    My Ipad became katastrophie
    slow
    bugs
    can not get the sim to work

  21. ydharma

    01/11/2016 at 12:53 pm

    at this moment i had a rare issue, my 3days-old 6s+ wont be rebooted, so i must restore it with itunes, in the middle of my busy day, hope this update won’t make me do this for the 2nd time.. time is precious

  22. Kog

    01/16/2016 at 12:08 pm

    Had a nag window pop up right around black friday to apply this update for features I never used. I resisted for almost 2 weeks but since Apple only gave the option to apply the update immediately, apply the update tonight or remind me tomorrow, I finally gave in and applied the update to shut it up. Now my ipad reboots constantly. Have tried a restore and full reset with no change. I have no doubt that this update was intentionally designed to brick old equipment and drive sales. Never again.

  23. Bill

    01/17/2016 at 8:50 pm

    So what you are all saying is not to trust this review…..I will not upgrade.

  24. Peekay

    01/30/2016 at 6:00 am

    This update completely destroyed my phone. It went completely dead, it would not restore power or even light up. I had it replaced two days later after my faith of recovery ran out. 3hrs of having my new replacement phone and losing ALL THE CONTENTS IN MY LAST PHONE, the new phone went dead… It still is dead… A day later after being on the charger over night ITS STILL DEAD OMFG, second phone same freakn issue as the first one so now I have to wait 3 more days for another replacement… I’m furious… iPhone 6s

  25. William383

    02/02/2016 at 6:16 am

    iPad Mini, made space for the 1.3 GB 9.2 update but cancelled, I’m sticking with 8.3 as the update to 9.1 on my other Mk 1 iPad ruined it, it lags and often crashes while browsing Web sites with high content such. Not going to make the same mistake again. Mr Apple should warn all users of older ipads that they will likely run badly after..

  26. P. L. B.

    02/03/2016 at 4:38 pm

    Is the full text of the User Agreement for iOS 9.2.1 published anywhere? There used to be a way to request that the UA be sent via email, but I don’t see that option on this version. Google searches yield nothing… I’d just like to know what I’m agreeing to, before I push the “Accept” button.

  27. Ok

    02/18/2016 at 6:34 am

    My 6s won’t even let me download the new update. It just crashes whenever i hit ‘install now’. I guess it was a good thing though, cause of all the bugs im hearing about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *