Connect with us
[adinserter block="2"]


Uber Rewards: How it Works & What You Need to Know



The new Uber Rewards loyalty program is now available to riders. This program allows you to level up, similar to airline programs, to earn bigger and better rewards and credits that you can use on Uber and Uber Eats. The new loyalty program also includes car upgrades, better support and the ability to cancel rides without a fee if you rebook shortly after.

In the new Uber Loyalty program users are able to earn and use the rewards on Uber rides and Uber Eats, which brings the two programs together in new ways. This is different from the Uber Rewards program for drivers that included vehicle maintenance discounts, phone plan discounts and access to other services.

The program is designed to keep riders using Uber and to counter Lyft’s reward program. When you use Uber Rewards the driver still gets the full rate, so you don’t need to worry about cutting into the driver’s earnings.

This is how Uber Rewards works and this is what you need to know about the new Uber Loyalty program.

What is Uber Rewards?

Uber Rewards is a loyalty program for Uber rides and Uber Eats. You can earn when you use Uber for business or personal use. Right now there are no bikes or scooters as part of the program, but they may be added later.

Once you join, you get a $5 credit and you can start earning rewards with each ride or order. You will progress through four Uber rewards levels, each with bigger rewards.

How Uber Rewards Work

This is what you need to know about how Uber Rewards works and what the rewards are.

This is what you need to know about how Uber Rewards works and what the rewards are.

At the start you earn 1 point for every dollar you spend with UberPool or Uber Eats and two points for UberX, UberXL, Uber Select and WAV. You earn three points for Black and Black SUV spending.

You start as a Blue member, but can advance all the way to Diamond. Here’s the breakdown of points needed to advance to another level.

  • Blue – 0-499
  • Gold  – 500-2,499
  • Platinum – 2,500-7,499
  • Diamond – 7,500 and up

The reward periods are only six months long, so you will need to use Uber often to rank up. The period starts when you join. The good news is that you enjoy the rewards for another 6 months after the period ends at the level you hit in the previous period. So if you unlock Platinum, you get the benefits for your first 6 months and then again in the second six months even if you don’t spend Platinum level rewards.

What Do I Get With Uber Rewards?

There are a variety of rewards that you earn when you use Uber Rewards and you also unlock extras at each level that can make your Uber experience better. Here’s a breakdown of the rewards as they stand;

You earn $5 for every 500 Points no matter the level. You can use these rewards on Uber rides or Uber Eats.

Uber Rewards Gold Level unlocks flexible cancellations. This allows you to cancel without a fee if you rebook within 15 minutes. You also get priority support when you need help. This means faster access to better trained support staff.

Uber Rewards Platinum Level users get the Gold rewards and they also get price protection and priority pickup. This allows you to lock in lower prices between the two places you travel the most. With this you avoid paying more during busy times or when there is traffic. You also get priority pickup at airports so you wait less.

Uber Rewards Diamond Level users get all the other rewards and dedicated phone support with 24/7 response times from top agents. You also get free surprise upgrades from UberX to Uber Black and there is a special UberX Diamond option that you can use to get higher rated drivers. You also get three no delivery fee Uber Eats orders every six months.

How to Join Uber Rewards

Joining Uber Rewards is easy and it is free. If you are in one of the cities where it is available, you will see a message pop up asking you to join Uber Rewards. There is no fee to join or fee to stay in the program.

If you don’t see the pop up you can join the Uber Rewards wait list using this link. You need to enter your city and your email. If you do this all the spending for six months prior to you joining will count towards your reward level.

Where are Uber Rewards Available?

Uber Rewards are available now, but only in nine cities to start with. The program will roll out to the entire U.S. in the next few months, but for now it is limited to;

  • Miami
  • New Jersey
  • Denver
  • Tampa
  • New York
  • Washington, DC
  • Philadelphia
  • Atlanta
  • San Diego

Even if you aren’t in one of these cities, you should join the wait list to start earning towards rewards as you ride.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *