iOS 8.1 iPhone 4s Reviews: Should You Install iOS 8.1?
Connect with us

Apple

iOS 8.1 iPhone 4s Reviews: Should You Install iOS 8.1?

Published

on

Apple’s iOS 8.1 update brings many fixes to or big iOS 8 problems and according to the early iOS 8.1 on iPhone 4s reviews it is an update that packs in better performance and fixes to some problems like battery life and crashes.

After using iOS 8.1 on the iPhone 4s for almost two days the early reviews from users are overwhelmingly positive. Much like we saw performance improve with iOS 8.1 on the iPad 3, iPhone 4s owners report better performance and fewer crashes.

Apple’s major iOS updates are known for knocking out battery life and performance on older devices, which is something that users complained about with iOS 8 and iOS 8.0.2, but so far iOS 8.1 delivers much needed improvements.

User reviews rave about the iOS 8.1 iPhone 4s performance.

User reviews rave about the iOS 8.1 iPhone 4s performance.

The iOS 8.1 release is smaller and more focused on fixes and performance improvements on the iPhone 4s and other devices. You can check out what’s new on iOS 8.1 to see what Apple added, but you won’t see any specific mentions of iPhone 4s performance. That’s OK. Many times Apple delivers better performance without mentioning it and admitting performance was lacking on a previous update.

We’ll revisit this as more users share their iOS 8.1 on iPhone 4s reviews, but the early reviews are very positive. If you’ve held off installing iOS 8 on the iPhone 4s it’s time to look again.

iOS 8.1 Installation

The best news is that we did not hear about major iOS 8.1 installation problems on the iPhone 4s. One user reports his iOS 8.1 install took about 30 minutes, which is average for most iPhones.

https://twitter.com/TomOdell/status/524252527785955328

Some users may run into iOS 8.1 installation problems that require a restore using iTunes and a USB cable, so make sure you have a backup handy.

iOS 8.1 on iPhone 4s Performance

Overall it looks like the iOS 8.1 iPhone 4s update delivers better performance for most users and we are not seeing an overwhelming number of complaints about battery life, apps or connectivity. These iOS 8.1 reviews come from users on Twitter and Reddit. iOS 8 slowed performance on the iPhone 4s and even though we shared a trick to speed it up this free iOS 8.1 update does a better job.

iOS 8.1 iPhone 4s performance is much better than iOS 8 or iOS 8.0.2 according to users.

iOS 8.1 iPhone 4s performance is much better than iOS 8 or iOS 8.0.2 according to users.

iOS 8.1 Apps

Not many users talked about apps on the iPhone 4s running iOS 8.1. This is good considering many times complaints are easier to find and those users are more vocal. One user reports that random crashes are gone, which relate to overall performance or to apps.

https://twitter.com/TerenceSmith79/status/524324462570012672

You can count on an overall good performance of apps on iOS 8.1 on the iPhone 4s based on what we could find.

iOS 8.1 Speed on the iPhone 4s

Users overwhelmingly report great iOS 8.1 iPhone 4s speeds. Many of the users below compare it to the performance of iOS 7.1.2, the last update before iOS 8. This means a number of iPhone 4s owners now have their old iPhone experience back, plus the new iOS 8 features. If you are still on iOS 7.1.2 this is great news and another reason to upgrade.

https://twitter.com/MikeCooper/status/524847866477821952

Not all users enjoy the iOS 8.1 update, but this is something we see on all devices. Typically you should focus on the what happens to the majority of devices, but you cannot discount these complaints. IF you experience bad iOS 8.1 performance on the iPhone 4s you may need to reset settings or start over with a clean installation.

iOS 8.1 Battery life

While there are not  lot of iOS 8.1 iPhone 4s battery life reviews from users, one owner on Reddit shares his wonderful battery life after updating to iOS 8.1. Over five hours of usage and nearly 19 hours of standby with 1% battery life left is very good for an older device like this. The user jumped straight from iOS 7 to iOS 8.1 and still enjoys the performance.

WiFi & Bluetooth

At this point there are not significant reports of any iOS 8.1 WiFi or Bluetooth connection problems from iPhone 4S owners. Connectivity problems can plague users after small updates like this, so we may see some additional reports roll in, but Apple did focused on fixing some WiFi problems and Bluetooth problems with the iOS 8.1 release.

Should You Install iOS 8.1 on the iPhone 4s?

Most users should install the iOS 8.1 on the iPhone 4s.

Most users should install the iOS 8.1 on the iPhone 4s.

If you’ve been waiting for a stable version of iOS 8 to install on the iPhone 4s it looks like the iOS 8.1 iPhone 4s update is the one you are waiting for. Overall users enjoy the improved performance and there are not many complaints about the new update.

If you are on iOS 8 or iOS 8.0.2 this is a no brainer. You should upgrade to iOS 8.1 soon to gain the speed boost and fixes to other problems.

For users on iOS 7.1.2 or older, this is still a very good update that is worth installing, but keep in mind you cannot go back to iOS 7 after upgrading.

What’s New in iOS 8

iOS 8 vs iOS 7 Walkthrough - Home Screen

iOS 8 vs iOS 7 Walkthrough - Home Screen

We start our iOS 8 vs iOS 7 walkthrough with the iPhone home screen, which is where you'll start your iOS 8 experience after an update this fall. 

These screens are incredibly important as you see them anytime you turn on the iPhone or need to choose an app to launch. There is no way around using them, so Apple needs to make sure they work just right. 

As you can see in the iOS 8 vs iOS 7 comparison above, there is no change between the home screen in the new iPhone software. Apple changed the status bar and some other small visual changes in iOS 7, but there are no updates for iOS 8.  

We could see Apple change the home screen slightly for iOS 8 for the iPhone 6. The new iPhone will feature a larger 4.7-inch display with a higher resolution. This is something Apple may use to add more icons to the screen. Or they could stick with the current layout, it's tough to tell.  

34 Comments

34 Comments

  1. Tim

    10/22/2014 at 8:16 am

    I updated my 4s a little over a week ago from iOS 6 to iOS 8.0.2. Worst decision ever. All bugs aside, I hate 8. It’s ugly in every way and user-friendliness went Dow the toilet by comparison. The only reason I left 6 was I needed to block a few numbers and that was the only way to do so.

    I experienced the same overwhelming wave of bugs as everyone else, which didn’t help me feel any better.

    Yesterday I decided I’d give 8.1 a try and subsequently discovered a new bug not reported: 8.0.2 won’t allow me to back up my phone to iCloud. With every attempt, or of two things happens: either I get repeated “sign in” windows or back up failure messages. It won’t go five seconds after initiating a back up.

    When I finly have up after 20 or so attempts, I then learned that my efforts resulted in another bug: my contacts got screwy/disappeared and my email went crazy (I couldn’t delete any and I had several that had changed over to “no sender” status). A soft reboot was necessary to fix that.

    So…since I have no access to iTunes, and even have to borrow wifi, it looks like I’m stuck with this until I can afford a new phone.

    • leArt (@leArt78)

      10/27/2014 at 12:49 pm

      OMG from ios 6 to ios 8, i feel sorry for you, im on 7.1.1 4s and if i could i wold go straight to ios 6 again, you updated by purpose :D :D

      • Tim

        10/27/2014 at 1:15 pm

        Right?! The only reason I did it was because a former employer of mine wouldn’t remove me from two different group text loops. And it wasn’t acceptable to receive 30 or more texts from them a day, two months after I left the job. I needed to block the numbers and this was the only option.

        Still…I don’t know what Apple was thinking leaving the look and feel of ios 6 behind in favor of 7 and 8. That wasn’t a step in the right direction at all.

        Aside from that block, I haven’t benefited from the update. I have been inconvenienced for certain.

  2. Wynand Mans

    10/22/2014 at 11:10 am

    Ios 8.1 greyed out my wifi/bluetooth.
    Reset/reboot of no avail
    Please help
    Thanks

    • Peter

      10/28/2014 at 2:34 pm

      Same here, wifi is greyed out. Randomly when I restarted ONE time it was on but almost immediately disconnected from the network and wouldn’t find it again. Restarted and it was greyed out, where it has remained. This after erasing everything and doing a clean install of 8.1

      God knows how an issue could be so random across the same device.

  3. Marwan Yassin

    10/22/2014 at 11:20 am

    iOS 8.1 on iPhone 4S fixed some of the stupidest bugs I’ve ever seen in iOS updates, WiFi was always dimmed, Home button had a crazy behaviour, battery had other stuff to do other than powering the device and restarting randomly, iOS 8.0 till iOS 8.0.2 felt like an android phone

    • Jean

      11/15/2014 at 11:36 am

      Moron, Android is way better as shitty Apple iOS without jailbrake…

  4. Jack

    10/22/2014 at 11:30 am

    up to I looked at the paycheck which was of $5388 , I didn’t believe …that…my mother in law was realy taking home money in there spare time from there pretty old laptop. . there great aunt started doing this 4 less than sixteen months and just now cleard the depts on there place and bought a gorgeous Chevrolet Corvette . see ….. Fox92.Ƈom

  5. D. Keith McKenzie

    10/22/2014 at 3:42 pm

    …Geez … I bought a “very good” used unlocked 4s on eBay back on Oct 2 … it arrived with iOS 8 installed … AT&T folks told me not to load that SW when I went in to move my SIM from an Android phone to the iPhone … when the saw it was already loaded they were amazed that it would even start up … but it seemed fine until I got home and tried to set-up my WiFi … all kinds of problems … which led to upgrade to 8.01 and then to 8.02 … all the while hoping to see some fixes … but things went from not so good to terribly bad … Bluetooth was off .. and the option to start it was greyed out ( but the little rotating gear continues to run constantly – can’t stop that ) … similarly the WiFi option was off and and was likewise greyed out and inaccessible … then messaging was no longer accessible … and to top it all off the phone now discharges in 2-3 hours … even when powered off … kind of scary … but on Mon the 20th I was able to download iOS 8.1 to my Windows XP iTunes (took almost 6 GB to do that – downloads a huge file and then has to extract it, before installing it — and instead of getting rid of the mess it makes, it puts the no longer needed files in the recycle bin taking up more space — took me 6 hours to get thru all of that …. and all for naught … still nothing works … tried resetting networking … resetting everything … useless … even drove 10 miles to a Starbucks to get a different WiFi … but nothing works … I have an iPad Air with 8.0 installed … mostly OK … some APPS struggle, but that is probably the APP developer not quite up to speed …. It seems crazy that Apple lets these kind of PR nightmares occur … a simple solution might be to allow users to download and install older iOS versions until fiixes can be made … WHY … WHY ???

    I am a rather large Apple stockholder … and would hate to see class-action lawsuits … but it may come to that !!!

  6. wass90

    10/23/2014 at 2:06 am

    guys i update to ios 8.1 but my phone is not openin just shows the apple icon :(( what should i do??!! help pelase

  7. Chris

    10/23/2014 at 4:22 am

    Ars Technica review tells the exact contrary. Performance is not better on the 4s

  8. ios5

    10/23/2014 at 5:25 pm

    has anyone compared IOS5.1.1 to IOS8.1 on 4S? I have my 4S running on the good old 5.1.1 working lightning fast. I would like to compare cold start of mail, safari, maps, waze, facebook, etc and also common actions like tapping new email button, opening new safari tab, etc. if you’re interested to take a video snap and combine them into one drop me a sign at mailing lists 35 at gmail dot com

    • Tim

      10/23/2014 at 5:39 pm

      If you are happy with iOS 5, stuck with it. ios 6 is very similar so I wouldn’t go beyond that if I were you unless there are just features in 8 that you feel you would love to have (for me, nber blocking was my only reason). I don’t need and feel inconvenienced by many of the newer feature and a reduction in user friendliness. Also, I loved the graphics and visuals in general of 5 and 6. 7 and 8 are boring, two dimensional imitations that do nothing to improve the looks of the phone.

      Everything worked better when I was on 5 and 6. I can’t claim a comparison here with 8.1 though because 8.0.2 won’t let me access iCloud for a back up.

    • Al

      10/29/2014 at 10:09 pm

      I also have IOS 6.1.3 on 4S and I can say it is fast as new and almost same speed as my new iPhone 6+. The only reason me getting the iPhone 6+ is to have IOS 8 without bricking my 4S and I would love to keep IOS6 on 4S forever. I need IOS8 to use some apps now and having some big screen helps me to be bit more productive. Other than those reasons I would probably can use 4S for another few years as a smartphone.

  9. satswamiSwami

    10/24/2014 at 2:16 pm

    Just upgraded to 8.1 in my iPhone 4s and it should be lil better. but still there are issues with performance. Just giving a note. There are still keyboard lags and home screen takes a lag while coming up, some connectivity issues,

  10. Digs

    10/25/2014 at 9:47 pm

    Wifi greyed out, clocking continuously next to the 4G symbol and who knows what else after upgrade to 8.1. Powered down, reset network settings, zip, zero, nada. Battery gone in 2 hrs on this 4s that was working very nicely.

  11. wong ts

    10/27/2014 at 3:43 am

    ios 8.1 gave my iphone 4s an unsuccessful update problem.My phone shown the pic of cable needed to be connected to itunes. but after do so the itunes keep on saying need to restore or update.After follow the instruction, it download and update fail half way for so many time or should i said for several days. Tonight i will try to troubleshoot my iphone 4s, again.

  12. Pam

    10/27/2014 at 10:15 am

    After 8.1 update my iphone 4s is having to be rebooted each day in order to use Safari.

    • Pam

      10/31/2014 at 10:38 am

      After reading the article on how to solve 11 problems with the 8.1 update, I “reset all settings” then powered off then back on. So, for 3 days now everything is working very well. Battery retention is better than it was with ios 7 and I am able to use Safari and successfully charge the battery.

  13. Wendy

    10/27/2014 at 11:59 am

    I have a 4s. Having trouble forwarding a text or a pic. Freezes or have to reboot. Any way to fix this?? Thanks!

  14. Elaine Thomas

    10/28/2014 at 1:21 pm

    Hasn’t solved my wifi issue – drops out, won’t connect again for days, then might connect for about 5 minutes then drops out again. Is eating into my 3G usage big time. Thought it might just be with my router, but won’t connect to any wifi. Have now done the suggested network reset – dropped out almost straight away. So not impressed!

  15. Part of contacts disappeared from all iOS devices!!!!!!! :-<

  16. Jujhar

    10/29/2014 at 9:00 pm

    Hlo frds pls tell me ios 8.0.1 vs 8.1 whose is best

  17. Gopi

    10/31/2014 at 8:17 am

    I have updated my iphone5 OS from 8.0 to8.1 immediately shifting to 8.1 my phone started restarting restarting automatically in a range of every 2 minutes .

    IOS 8.1 screwed my phone .even I visited Apple’s so called one of service provider for the quality check of device on the issue .One of the engineer did some test & said nothing to worry there is some software issue & after taking day time they called me and said there is a hardware crash in your phone do you need to go for complete device for replacement with the cost of 25K

    Please don’t go for 8.1

    • Tim

      10/31/2014 at 8:23 am

      I’m afraid you posted your story with the wrong article, friend. This is about iOS 8.1 updates for the iPhone 4s. There are seperate articles for each of the iPhone’s’ experiences to keep them organized by model.

  18. Lisa

    11/01/2014 at 8:46 pm

    Help!!
    My iPhone 4s says to update but when I tried it said I didn’t have enough storage so went to storage and purchased an additional 20 GBP for 99¢ per month extra but says extra storage went to cloud and I’m still not able to get my update to his 8.1??
    I am not computer savvy!! Need help:)

  19. Eric

    11/04/2014 at 12:51 pm

    After installing the iOS 8.1 update on my iPhone 4S almost 2 weeks ago, I noticed a considerable improvement in performance over the prior iOS 8.x.x iterations, which is exactly what I was hoping for. Everything was smooth sailing. However, a few days ago, the phone began to run at high temps, & experiencing severe battery drain at a very observable rate…as in, I can watch the available battery charge tick away, at an average rate of 1% per 1-2 minutes.

    By way of a diagnostic monitor that I use, I can see the CPU & RAM usage consistently spiking through the roof, regardless of whether the phone was in use, or just sitting idle. I’m no stranger to this OS…I have tried everything to narrow down & rectify the culprit, & the only remaining direction to point the finger at is a bug/process at the CPU level, in the way that the OS is interacting with the hardware.

    The only thing that I have yet to try is wiping the entire phone clean as a “new” device…but based on other reports that I’ve read of individuals experiencing the same problem, restoring as “new” doesn’t fix it either. I’ve read many accounts across multiple forums, that over the past week or so, this has been a commonly surfacing issue, specifically on iPhones. Given everything that I (& others) have tried, I really don’t see a solution to this, short of Apple fixing their damn code.

  20. Danny

    11/14/2014 at 9:55 pm

    Updated my 4s to 8.1. Since install I have no wifi or Bluetooth. Tried everything but complete factory reset. Very frustrating. Don’t update yet, by far I’m not the only one.

    • pam

      11/15/2014 at 6:17 am

      One suggestion was to reset settings. Go to Settings-General-Reset- “Reset all settings” . It worked for my phone. It was some work re-setting things but you don’t lose contacts, favorites, etc. Now my 4s is working fine on the new update. Also, did you try turning it off completely then back on after 5 minutes? This helped me restore the wifi and bluetooth on the first ios 8 update.

  21. Sriram

    11/16/2014 at 8:56 pm

    I still have 6.1.3 in my 4s. I like the 3d effect which the ios 7 and 8 dropped. Apart from this do u guys think I should update my phone to ios 8.1? And the only reason I even think about loosing the 6.1.3 by updating to 8.1 is because I can’t download some applications. It’s asking at lease ios7.0 .

    • Tim

      11/16/2014 at 11:13 pm

      If I were you, I’d stay right where you are. I made the same leap you’re debating and regret it every day.

    • pamels

      11/17/2014 at 6:23 am

      I had more trouble with ios 7 than I do now with 8.1, so don’t do 7! 8.1 is working good on my 4s but follow the instructions in the article on how to prepare your phone before you update to ios 8.1. Also, I hear that another update is due soon, but this time I will wait awhile to see how that is going.

  22. شفيع اكسير

    12/08/2014 at 9:38 am

    IOS8.1.1

  23. شفيع اكسير

    12/08/2014 at 9:48 am

    Send me iOS8.0.2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Apple

5 Things to Know About the iOS 14.2 Update

Published

on

Apple’s confirmed a new iOS 14.2 update and the software is now in beta testing ahead of a release for iPhone.

iOS 14.2 is a milestone release (x.x) which means it should bring new features, security enhancements, and fixes for bugs impacting the current version of iOS 14.

There’s a chance iOS 14.2 serves as iOS 14.0’s successor, but we could also see the company release iOS 14.1, or another version of iOS 14, perhaps iOS 14.0.1, before it arrives.

We don’t have an official iOS 14.2 release date yet, but iPhone users who don’t want to wait for the official roll out can try the update out right now through one of Apple’s beta programs.

With iOS 14.2 on the way, we want to take you through everything there is to know about the software.

In this guide to 14.1 we’ll take you through the update’s known changes, what you can expect from the iOS 14.2 release date and release time, key information about the iOS 14.2 beta, and more.

Try Starz or HBO Free with Amazon Channels

iOS 14.2 Beta

If you don’t want to wait for the official version of iOS 14.2 to arrive, you don’t have to.

The iOS 14.2 beta is available to those in Apple’s developer program and those enrolled in the Beta Software Program.

While a developer account requires you to pay money, Apple’s Beta Software Program is free to anyone with a compatible device and working Apple ID. Most people should install the public iOS 14.2 beta.

Before you download the iOS 14.2 beta onto your phone remember that pre-release software is almost always plagued with bugs and performance issues. These issues could impact the performance of your core apps, your device’s battery life, and its overall speed which makes it a less than ideal daily driver.

You should be able to fix some of these problems on your own, but some bugs and performance issues will probably require a fix from Apple down the road.

If you can’t stand the beta’s performance on your iPhone you can downgrade back to iOS 14.0 or iOS 13 though Apple is only signing on iOS 13.7. The downgrade path back to older versions of iOS 13 is closed.

In other words, if you were to move from iOS 13.6.1 or older to iOS 14.2 beta, there’s no way back. Keep that in mind before you jump to the beta.

iOS 14.2 Release Date

Apple hasn’t confirmed an official iOS 14.2 release date for iPhone.

Nothing is confirmed, but the company is reportedly planning to launch iOS 14.1 alongside the new iPhone 12 series in October.  The iPhone 12 announcement is currently rumored for Tuesday, October 13th.

If that pans out, Apple could release iOS 14.1 shortly before the new iPhones arrive on shelves with an iOS 14.2 release coming sometime afterward.

Apple recently told CNET that it is “aware of an issue that can impact default email and browser settings in iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 and that a “fix will be available to users in a software update.”

Given the nature of the bug, we could see a new version of iOS 14 roll out in the near future. Apple could also bake the fix into iOS 14.1 or iOS 14.2.

We’ll let you know when we learn more.

iOS 14.2 Release Time

We don’t have an official iOS 14.2 release date yet, but we know exactly when Apple will roll the software out on whatever day it chooses.

The official version of iOS 14.2 will probably arrive in and around 10AM Pacific. It sometimes takes a few minutes for iOS updates to show up so there’s no need to worry if you don’t see new software right when the clock strikes 10AM.

Apple will also release iOS 14.2 beta updates for developers and those in the Beta Software Program in and around 10AM Pacific. The company typically releases new beta updates every 1-2 weeks.

Keep this timeline in mind if you plan to install the official version of iOS 14.2, or new iOS 14.2 betas, right away.

iOS 14.2 Update: What’s New

Apple’s x.x updates always bring a mix of features, security patches, and under-the-hood improvements and that’s exactly what to expect from iOS 14.2.

Developers digging through the first iOS 14.2 beta have discovered a new Music Recognition control for Control Center. The feature will let iOS 14.2 users discover music around them.

Beta testers have also discovered a new “People Detection” feature in Magnifier in Control Center that uses AR (Augmented Reality) to show you the distance between yourself and other people.

The Apple Watch icon has also been updated to reflect the new Solo Loop band that was released alongside the company’s new Watches.

Apple could add, or subtract, from the iOS 14.2 change log as the beta progresses so keep an eye out for changes as the software makes progress behind the scenes.

iOS 14 Jailbreak

If you still jailbreak, make sure you avoid the iOS 14.2 beta. The only way you can jailbreak a device right now is if it’s running an older version of iOS 13 or iOS 12.

We don’t expect them to release a tool that’s compatible with the iOS 14.2 beta.

4 Reasons Not to Install iOS 14 & 11 Reasons You Should

Install iOS 14 for Better Security

Install iOS 14 for Better Security

If security is important to you, think about installing the iOS 14 update right away.

iOS 14 brings 11 new security patches to your iPhone. If you're interested in the exact nature of these improvements, you can read about them over on Apple's website.

If you skipped iOS 13.7 or any older versions of iOS 13, you'll get the security patches from those updates with your iOS 14 update. 

In addition to those patches, iOS 14 comes with some security and privacy upgrades including improvements to Home/HomeKit and Safari. 

For instance in Safari, you can now tap the Privacy Report button to better understand how websites handle your privacy.

With iOS 14 on board you can now get information on the App Store that will help you understand the privacy practices of apps before you download them. 

There is also a new recording indicator that will appear at the top of your screen whenever an app is using your microphone or camera. You can see if an app has used them recently in Control Center.

Continue Reading

Apple

7 Things to Know About the iPhone SE iOS 14 Update

Published

on

Apple’s iOS 14 update is out for the iPhone SE and the new operating system has the potential to help, or hurt, your device’s performance.

After a lengthy stint in beta, iOS 14 is now available for iPhone SE models around the world. Apple’s decision to push iOS 14 to the iPhone SE means owners can delay an upgrade to a new device and hold onto the device for another year or more.

The iPhone SE’s iOS 14 update is a big one. It’s packed to the brim with new features including upgrades to Messages, Widgets on the home screen, an upgraded Maps app, and a whole lot more.

Unsurprisingly, many iPhone SE users, us included, have made the jump up from iOS 13. And while a lot of the feedback has been good, we’re also hearing about various issues ranging from minor bugs to serious performance problems.

Try Starz or HBO Free with Amazon Channels


If you decide to push ahead with the installation, know that iOS 14 requires a lot of free space on your internal storage. It’s multiple gigabytes.

If you’re running an older version of iOS on your iPhone SE, the download could be larger. That’s because the features and fixes from iOS updates you skipped are baked into the upgrade.

With all of that in mind, we want to take you through the most important things to know, right now, about the iPhone SE iOS 14 update.

This walkthrough will guide you through some of the early problems plaguing the software, the iOS 13 downgrade status, the iOS 14 jailbreak, and the software’s performance. We’ll also tell you about Apple’s plans for the future.

iPhone SE iOS 14 Impressions & Performance

We’ve been using iOS 14 on the iPhone SE for a few days and so far it’s running decently.

iOS 14 feels about as fast as iOS 13 did. Most of the time it’s pretty fast, but there are also times when the operating system feels a bit clunky.

We’ve noticed occasional lag when scrolling around the home screen and when using the keyboard. On the other hand, we haven’t seen any lag when using Control Center or Notification Center, both of which have given us problems in the past. Apps, both first and third-party, open up quickly.

Battery life is stable right now. We haven’t encountered any abnormal battery drain. Nor have we run into problems with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or GPS.

As for our core apps, which include Slack, Asana, Spotify, Chrome, and Gmail, they’re all working fine. If you’re running into issues with one or more of your applications, you’ll want to download the latest version. Developers are rolling out iOS 14 support updates and they should help.

Besides the occasional lag, we haven’t run into any game-breaking issues. It’s still early, but this is about what we expect from a device that was released all the way back in 2016.

If you’re feeling leery about the move to iOS 14, have a look at our reasons to, and not to, install the software right now.

You Should Prepare for iOS 14

If you’re gearing up to install iOS 14 on your device, make sure you prepare yourself, and your phone, for the move. This will help you avoid serious issues.

If you don’t know how to properly prepare for iOS updates, or you just need a refresher, we’ve released a pre-installation guide that will take you step-by-step through the process we use before we install new iOS software.

If you don’t have a time of time to devote to the pre-installation process, be sure to backup all of the data you store on your iPhone. Data issues are pretty rare, but it’s better to be safe than sorry, especially when moving from one operating system to another.

iPhone SE iOS 14 Problems & Fixes

We aren’t the only ones who have run into issues with the iPhone SE’s version of iOS 14.

We’ve heard about a variety of problems including abnormal battery drain, Touch ID problems, issues with first and third-party apps, touchscreen problems, Exchange issues, and more.

It’s still really early so we expect the list to grow as more iPhone SE users around the world decide to transition from iOS 13 to iOS 14.

If you’re nervous about potentially wrecking your iPhone SE’s performance, you might want to hang back and wait for Apple’s next batch of bug fixes. We expect a new version of iOS to roll out in the near future.

If you happen to run into an issue while running iOS 14, you might be able to fix the problem(s) on your own. If you don’t know where to start, our list of fixes for the most common iOS 14 problems is a good place to do so.

If your iPhone SE’s battery is draining faster than normal, we’ve got a list of tips that should help you improve the device’s battery life going forward.

If you’re dealing with bad performance (lag, slow download speeds, etc), take a look at our guide to fixing bad iOS 14 performance.

iOS 13 Downgrade Open

If you run into debilitating problems on iOS 14, and you can’t find a fix, you might try moving your phone’s software back to iOS 13.

Apple is currently signing on iOS 13.7 which means you can drop your iPhone SE’s software back in an attempt to improve performance.

The company won’t sign on iOS 13 forever so if you really want to get your phone off of iOS 14, you’ll need to make a move sooner rather than later. Once Apple stops signing on iOS 13.7, you won’t be able to get off iOS 14.

If you’re unfamiliar with the downgrade process, take a look at our guide.

iPhone SE iOS 14 Update: What’s New

Again, the iPhone SE’s version of iOS 14 is packed to the brim with the changes. The device misses out on a few features, but most of the key upgrades are there.

Highlights include the new Translate app, improvements to Siri, upgrades to Messages, Widgets on the home screen, and a number of changes to the Maps app.

We’ve put together a guide that will take you through some of iOS 14’s best features and it’s worth a look if you haven’t spent time digging into the new software.

If you’re moving your device up from an older version of iOS 13 you’ll get the features and fixes from the updates you skipped. We also have a guide that goes over the latest iOS 13 features and you should check it out if your device is on older software.

What’s Next for the iPhone SE

If your iPhone SE is having a tough time on iOS 14, you won’t have to wait long for Apple’s first batch of bug fixes.

Apple has told CNET that it is “aware of an issue that can impact default email and browser settings in iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 and that a “fix will be available to users in a software update.”

The company recently confirmed an iOS 14.2 update and there’s also been chatter about an iOS 14.1 release alongside the iPhone 12 series in October. We could also see a fast iOS 14.0.1 release.

Whatever the case may be, we should see a new version of iOS 14 roll out soon and that’s great news for those of you looking for help.

iPhone SE iOS 14 Jailbreak

Developers have released an iOS 14 jailbreak tool that’s compatible with the iPhone SE.

The developer team behind the Checkra1n jailbreaking tool for iOS has released version 0.11.0 which adds support for iOS 14.

If you’ve moved to iOS 14 and you think you might want to jailbreak your phone, you can learn more about it over on the official Checkra1n website.

4 Reasons Not to Install iOS 14 & 11 Reasons You Should

Install iOS 14 for Better Security

Install iOS 14 for Better Security

If security is important to you, think about installing the iOS 14 update right away.

iOS 14 brings 11 new security patches to your iPhone. If you're interested in the exact nature of these improvements, you can read about them over on Apple's website.

If you skipped iOS 13.7 or any older versions of iOS 13, you'll get the security patches from those updates with your iOS 14 update. 

In addition to those patches, iOS 14 comes with some security and privacy upgrades including improvements to Home/HomeKit and Safari. 

For instance in Safari, you can now tap the Privacy Report button to better understand how websites handle your privacy.

With iOS 14 on board you can now get information on the App Store that will help you understand the privacy practices of apps before you download them. 

There is also a new recording indicator that will appear at the top of your screen whenever an app is using your microphone or camera. You can see if an app has used them recently in Control Center.

Continue Reading

Apple

7 Common WatchOS 7 Problems & How to Fix Them

Published

on

The watchOS 7 update brings new features, but it also brings new problems and errors. We will show you how to fix many of the common watchOS 7 problems that are popping up.

Apple is already working on a watchOS 7.1 beta that will fix some of these issues, but there is no specific release date for it yet.

The current watchOS 7 problems include familiar issues like; bad battery life, slow performance, connectivity errors, problems installing the update, watch face issues, and apps that don’t work.

You can try most of these fixes at home, but you cannot downgrade to watchOS 6. If you run into problems that you cannot fix, you can go to an Apple Store for help. It’s smart to make an appointment before you go.

This guide will walk you through fixes for some of the most common watchOS 7 problems. If your Apple Watch battery is draining fast, or the watch is feeling sluggish and experiencing connectivity issues, this guide will help you get your Apple Watch back to like new.

watchOS 7 Installation Problems

How to fix watchOS 7 installation problems.

You may see watchOS 7 installation problems depending on your Apple Watch model, your Internet connection, and the demand at the time.

It can take a while to download and install watchOS 7, so plan for that. You can speed this up by connecting to faster WiFi, or by waiting for others to finish and trying later.

If your iPhone doesn’t see the watchOS 7 update, you need to make sure that you install iOS 14 first. If that doesn’t work, restart your iPhone and your Apple Watch and see if that solves the problem.

Users who tried the watchOS 7 betas, need to delete those profiles to install the official release. Go to Settings -> General -> Profiles and then delete the beta profiles.

watchOS 7 Connection Problems

How to fix watchOS 7 connection problems.

Is your Apple Watch not working with Bluetooth, WiFi or LTE? While not common, an update like this can cause some weird connection errors.

Try turning these connections off and then back on. You can also try turning AirPlane mode on and then off.

  1. Swipe Up from the bottom of your Apple Watch
  2. Tap on WiFi to turn it off.
  3. Wait for a second and tap again to turn it on.

You can try the same thing with LTE. If you need to fix Bluetooth issues the best bet is to restart the Apple Watch. To do this, hold the side button and then slide power off to the right and then after the watch powers down press the digital crown to start it back up.

watchOS 7 Battery Drain

How to fix watchOS 7 battery life problems.

Is your Apple Watch battery life bad after installing watchOS 7?

It may be a watchOS 7 problem, or it could be that you are using the watch for sleep tracking more and need to change when you charge.

This is a very common watchOS 7 problem for the first day or two after the update. This should stop relatively quickly though. If not, there are some steps that you can take.

Try restarting your Apple Watch and your iPhone. This can solve many issues. Press and hold the digital crown and the side button at the same time until you see the Apple Logo. Then let go.

You can also try to limit notifications, or uninstall apps you no longer use.

Another option is to turn on power reserve mode if things get really bad. This isn’t a fix for bad battery life problems, but it will get your Apple Watch through the day. To do this, hold the side button until the menu pops up and then swipe over on power reserve.

For users with bad watchOS 7 battery life after a few days, you may need to unpair and re-pair the Apple Watch and iPhone. To do this, you need to go to the Apple Watch app on your iPhone.

  1. On your iPhone open the Watch app.
  2. Tap on My Watch and tap Apple Watch.
  3. Tap to Unpair Apple Watch.
  4. Next, tap to confirm and if you have Activation Lock on, enter your Apple ID password to turn it off.

Once this is done, you can connect the device and set it up with your iPhone again.

Missing Watch Faces in watchOS 7

How to find missing watch faces on watchOS 7.

Apple adds new watchOS 7 watch faces with this update. Some users are having trouble finding them. Ther are two reasons for this.

If you are on the official watchOS 7 update then you need to swipe and add the new watch faces.

  1. Press on any watch face.
  2. Swipe all the way to the right.
  3. Tap on New (+)
  4. Scroll with the Digital Crown to find the face.

If you don’t see any of the new watchOS 7 watch faces, you may be on the watchOS 7.1 beta, which at this stage does not have the new watch faces.

Slow Apple Watch After Installing watchOS 7

How to fix a slow Apple Watch after installing watchOS 7.

Is your Apple Watch running slow after installing watchOS 7? These fixes are similar to those for bad battery life on watchOS 7.

  • Try restarting your Apple Watch.
  • Try Restarting your iPhone.
  • Do a Hard Reset – Hodl the Digital Crown and Side Button for 10 seconds until you see the Apple Logo.

If these don’t work, you can try waiting a day or two for the device to index and update all the apps and adjust, or you can try to un-pair and re-pair. To do that,

  1. On your, iPhone open the Watch app.
  2. Tap on My Watch and tap Apple Watch.
  3. Tap to Unpair Apple Watch.
  4. Next, tap to confirm and if you have Activation Lock on, enter your Apple ID password to turn it off.

This process takes a while, so only do this when you are ready and able to dedicate time to the process.

WatchOS 7 App Crashes & Errors

How to fix Apple Watch app problems on watchOS 7.

If you experience watchOS 7 app crashes or errors there are a few things that you can try.

  1. Restart your Phone and Watch
  2. Update All Your apps
  3. Uninstall and Re-install the App

We’ve run into some apps asking for location access again with new prompts, so you may need to allow location access for different apps before they work. In most cases, you will get a pop-up. You can also change these settings in the Watch app on your iPhone.

How to Fix Lingering watchOS 7 Problems

How to fix other annoying watchOS 7 problems.

If you experience annoying problems and issues, you may need to reset your Apple Watch. Here is how to do that.

  1. On your, iPhone open the Watch app.
  2. Tap on My Watch and tap Apple Watch.
  3. Tap to Unpair Apple Watch.
  4. Next, tap to confirm and if you have Activation Lock on, enter your Apple ID password to turn it off.

This is resetting your watch, so you will need to set it back up. Once you do this, you can choose if you want to restore the backup or start from scratch. Most users will want to restore from backup.

Continue Reading

Apple

10 Things to Do Before the iPhone 12 Release Date

Published

on

Apple iPhone 12 rumors are heating up and the release date is getting close. If you’re thinking about buying an iPhone 12 or iPhone 12 Pro this fall, there are some things you should do before Apple’s 2020 iPhones arrive.

Now that we’re pushing into the fall there are some great reasons to think about waiting for Apple’s next batch of iPhones.

The company’s new iPhone 12 models are reportedly coming with massive changes including 5G support, upgrades to the camera, new processor, and more.

We don’t have an official release date yet, that announcement won’t come for a few weeks, but all signs point to a launch in October.

According to AppleInsider, the iPhone 12 announcement could come on Tuesday, October 13th, followed by pre-orders on Friday, October 16th. This lines up well with iPhone 12 launch rumors and Apple’s standard protocol.

While it might seem like it’s a bit early to start preparing for the iPhone 12’s release date, taking some steps ahead of time will ensure that you’re fully prepared to buy one when the time comes.

In this guide we’ll take prospective iPhone 12 buyers through some steps to take ahead of Apple’s announcements.

Try Starz or HBO Free with Amazon Channels

Track iPhone 12 Rumors

If you’re interested in buying one of the new iPhones in the fall, you’ll want to track the latest rumors as we push toward their release date.

Apple does its best to keep things under wraps, but rumors and leaks are inevitable and we’ve seen a ton of information emerge in recent weeks.

Rumors will fill in many of the blanks well ahead of the iPhone 12’s release and they will help you set proper expectations as we close in on Apple’s announcements. If you have proper expectations, you’ll avoid disappointment.

In addition to keeping an eye out for hardware and software rumors, you’ll also want to keep your eyes peeled for supply chain rumors.

We haven’t heard anything concrete yet, but if rumors start pointing to potential shortages at launch, you might want to think about putting in a pre-order in order to avoid a delay.

If you want a look at the latest iPhone 12 rumors, take a look at our guide.

Check Your Upgrade Status

If you’re planning to buy a new iPhone in the fall, you’ll want to keep an eye on your upgrade status as we push closer to the release date.

If you’re not eligible for an upgrade until October or later, you might not be able to put in a pre-order for a new device since your line won’t eligible.

Carriers will sometimes move up your upgrade status so you’ll want to check in on it to see if anything changes in the buildup to the announcements.

Checking your current upgrade status is easy and only takes a few minutes. Here’s how to check your upgrade online at VerizonAT&TT-Mobile, and U.S. Cellular.

Sale
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, 256GB, Midnight Green, Fully Unlocked (Renewed)
191 Reviews
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, 256GB, Midnight Green, Fully Unlocked (Renewed)
  • Fully unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US-Cellular, Cricket, Metro, etc.).
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a charger and charging cable that may be generic, in which case it will be UL or Mfi (Made for iPhone) Certified.
  • Inspected and guaranteed to have minimal cosmetic damage, which is not noticeable when the device is held at arms length.
  • Successfully passed a full diagnostic test which ensures like-new functionality and removal of any prior-user personal information.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

Get Familiar with iOS 14

We recommend getting comfortable with the software that will power the iPhone 12.

Apple’s new iOS 14 operating system has arrived which means you can try it out on your current iPhone ahead of the official release.

If you do this before the iPhone 12 launches you won’t be caught off guard by all of the changes when you open up your new phone.

For more on iOS 14, have a look at our walkthrough.

Research iPhone Accessories

As we speed toward the release you’ll want to get familiar with case manufacturers and other iPhone accessory makers. This way, you’ll know exactly what to buy and how much to spend on accessories if you decide you need them.

We recommend reading reviews and digging into the best iPhone cases, screen protectors, and various other accessories before Apple confirms the devices.

Get a feel for the pricing, dig into pros and cons of each manufacturer, and find styles that appeal to you.

Figure Out How Much Storage You Need

Figure out how much storage you might need ahead of time.

iPhone 12 rumors are hinting at one major change to the iPhone’s storage capacity. Instead of 64GB, it looks like the iPhone 12’s storage will start at 128GB. Rumors point to additional 256GB and 512GB options.

Picking the right storage will help you save money and avoid headaches down the line. While some of you will be fine with the least amount of storage, others will want the peace of mind that comes with having more internal space available.

If you’re unsure about what you might need, take a look at our guide to picking the best iPhone 11 storage size.

Research iPhone 12 Alternatives

Before you decide to wait for the iPhone 12, make sure you go hands on with the current models. You might find a model you like at a price you love.

The iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, and iPhone 11 Pro Max are still fairly expensive, but their prices have dropped since launch.

We’ve also seen deals on Apple’s iPhones from 2018. The iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, and iPhone XR are still solid devices and they’re worth a look as well.

You might also want to take a peek at Apple’s new iPhone SE and other budget alternatives like the iPhone XiPhone 8 and iPhone 7. All of these devices are holding up quite well in 2020 and all of them will get upgraded to iOS 14 this fall.

While the iPhone 12 models are exciting, a lot of you might be fine going with a device from the current crop.

If you aren’t committed to buying an iPhone, make sure you check out iPhone 12 alternatives.

Some of these alternatives are already out on shelves. We recommend checking out the Samsung Galaxy S20 series, Galaxy Note 10Galaxy S10Galaxy Note 9, Galaxy S9, OnePlus 8, OnePlus 7, and Google’s Pixel 3, Pixel 4, and new Pixel 4a.

Make a Plan for Your Current Phone, Headphones & Charger

Make a plan for your current phone ahead of time. That way, you aren’t scrambling when the time comes.

Some of you might know of a friend or relative who could benefit from your current device. Ask around and see if anyone might need a hand-me-down later on this year. You might also look into donating your phone to charity.

If you plan on selling your current device to help offset the cost of your new iPhone, you’ll want to dig into prices at resellers like Gazelle and NextWorth.

You’ll also want to keep your current phone in pristine condition because that’s how you’ll get the most money back from those resellers, your carrier, or Apple when the time comes.

It’s not confirmed, but it looks like Apple won’t include a pair of headphones or a charger in the iPhone 12’s box. And that means you should come up with a plan for those items.

If you already own a pair EarPods, hold onto them. If you don’t, and you were relying on Apple to provide you with a pair, you might want to look into buying a pair of AirPods, a cheap pair of EarPods, or an EarPods alternative.

Apple will likely sell a charger through its website, but you should be perfectly fine buying a cheaper alternative from a company like Anker.

Look Into AppleCare

If you’re set on buying an iPhone 12, you’ll want to protect your investment.

All iPhones come with a standard warranty, but AppleCare is an extended warranty service that delivers better support. If you aren’t familiar with AppleCare’s service and its benefits, you should research them in the days ahead.

You will be able to add AppleCare to your bag during the checkout process when you purchase a new iPhone. You can also buy it later if you decide you want to wait.

Apple now gives users in the U.S. and Canada up to one year to buy AppleCare+.

Research Carriers

If you’re unhappy with your current provider’s coverage or plan, use this time to dig into competitors and see if you can find a better fit. This is especially important because the iPhone 12 series should feature 5G.

Each carrier has its pros and cons, but you might find one that stands out. If you’re interested in switching carriers, please take a look at our guides covering AT&T, T-Mobile, and Verizon.

You’ll also want to dig into other carriers like Spectrum, Xfinity, Boost Mobile, and others. They don’t always get the iPhone on day one, but the pricing is often better.

11 Reasons to Wait for the iPhone 12 & 5 Reasons Not To

Wait Because the iPhone 12 Launch is Close

Wait Because the iPhone 12 Launch is Close

The iPhone 12 launch is just weeks away and that means those of you interested in picking one up should consider holding off on buying a new device until Apple makes its announcements. 

Again, it looks like the iPhone 12 series will start shipping in October due to supply chain issues related to the coronavirus outbreak. 

And again, it looks like the iPhone 12 Pro models might not start shipping until sometime in November. Plans can change, but the leaker who released this information has been spot on in the past. 

According to Jon Prosser, Apple is currently prepping an iOS 14.1 update for release alongside the iPhone 12 series. 

iOS 14.1 reportedly won't be ready until October 9th which means the iPhones likely won't start shipping until mid-to-late October.

If you don't think you can sit through a few more weeks of rumors and/or you phone isn't going to last that long, you'll obviously want to move onto something else.

That said, if you can wait, now is the time to do so. We're getting close. 

Last update on 2020-09-23. This post may contain affiliate links. Click here to read our disclosure policy for more details. Images via Amazon API

Continue Reading

Apple

11 Reasons to Wait for the iPhone 12 & 5 Reasons Not To

Published

on

Apple’s iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, and iPhone 11 Pro Max are top notch, but some of you might want to wait for the 2020 iPhones, also known as the iPhone 12, iPhone 12 Pro, and iPhone 12 Pro Max.

Last September, Apple unveiled new flagship iPhone models. The iPhone 11 series is available in the United States and other countries around the world.

In April, the company announced a new iPhone SE which comes with a 4.7-inch display, an iPhone 8-like design, and upgraded internals.

As we push deeper into 2020, we’ve seen Apple and retailers offers deals on these devices and others. The iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, and iPhone XR from 2018 are still fairly expensive, but price cuts and trade-ins can save you quite a bit of cash on the  former flagships.

If you’re in the hunt for a new iPhone in 2020, these devices should be at or near the top of your shopping list alongside budget alternatives like the iPhone XiPhone 8 and iPhone 7.

While many of you are perfectly fine with one of these devices, others might want to wait. Rumor has it, the 2020 iPhone lineup will come with a much bigger set of changes and those who aren’t impressed with the iPhone 11 series, or Apple’s older iPhone models, should consider waiting.

Sale
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, 256GB, Midnight Green, Fully Unlocked (Renewed)
191 Reviews
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, 256GB, Midnight Green, Fully Unlocked (Renewed)
  • Fully unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US-Cellular, Cricket, Metro, etc.).
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a charger and charging cable that may be generic, in which case it will be UL or Mfi (Made for iPhone) Certified.
  • Inspected and guaranteed to have minimal cosmetic damage, which is not noticeable when the device is held at arms length.
  • Successfully passed a full diagnostic test which ensures like-new functionality and removal of any prior-user personal information.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

iPhone 12 Rumors

We’re just days away from an official iPhone 12 announcement and that means we’ve seen a ton of credible information emerge.

The iPhone 12 series will reportedly feature an overhauled camera system with 3D capabilities, OLED screens across the board, display upgrades, a new processor, 5G support, and a new design that could include a smaller notch.

We’ve heard that Apple might pull EarPods from the box in an effort to push people to AirPods. EarPods have always come with a new iPhone so this would be a pretty notable change.

Ming-Chi-Kuo agrees and predicts that Apple won’t include a pair of EarPods with the iPhone 12. He believes their removal will help Apple keep costs down.

Taiwanese research firm TrendForce also thinks “Apple has decided to sell the upcoming iPhones without accessories such as wired earphones, power adapter” in order to keep costs down.

Leaker L0vetodream also says the box won’t include a charger or EarPods. They also claim the iPhone 12’s packaging will become “thinner” and “exquisite.”

Analysts at British bank Barclays have backed this rumor up. They also think the new iPhones won”t ship with a power adapter. If true, that would leave a USB-C to Lightning cable in the box.

In his research note, Kuo says he thinks Apple will pull the power adapter from the iPhone’s box. He believes the company will sell the 20W power adapter as an accessory. He also thinks Apple will end production of the existing 5W and 18W power adapters.

A report from Nikkei suggests the same. So, at this point, it really looks like the iPhone 12 won’t have EarPods or a charger inside the box.

That being said, it looks like Apple will include a new braided USB-C to Lightning cable with the iPhone 12. Apple sells braided cables for other devices, but it hasn’t sold a braided cable for the iPhone or iPad before.

Apple currently includes a USB-C to Lightning cable and USB-C power adapter with iPhone 11 Pro models. The iPhone 11 comes with a USB-A to Lightning cable.

Try Starz or HBO Free with Amazon Channels

We’ve seen a ton of back and forth about the iPhone 12 launch date and we finally have an answer straight from Cupertino. Apple confirmed a delay during its quarterly earnings call with analysts.

The company’s CFO says Apple is currently planning to ship the new iPhone models a few weeks later than the standard September window.

YouTuber Jon Prosser has outlined what he’s heard about Apple’s iPhone 12 launch plans and they are as follows:

  • iPhone 12 launch event – Week of October 12th.
  • iPhone 12 pre-orders – Week of October 12th.
  • iPhone 12 – Shipping week of October 19th.
  • iPhone 12 Pro – Pre-orders and shipping in November.

According to AppleInsider, the iPhone 12 announcement could come on Tuesday, October 13th, followed by pre-orders on Friday, October 16th.

A report from Bloomberg outlines Apple’s plans even further. The site says all four iPhone models will launch in the fall.

The site claims the two lower-end iPhone 12 models, 5.4 and 6.1-inch devices, will arrive on shelves first followed by the higher-end iPhone 12 Pro models. The report notes that the company’s “rollout is on course to be the latest since the release of the iPhone X in November 2017.”

There’s also chatter about a 4G-only iPhone 12 arriving sometime in early 2021. The rumor comes from Wedbush Securities analysts who believe the phone could launch in Q1 with an $800 price point.

As for the names, leaker L0vetodream claims the new lineup might be called iPhone 12 mini, iPhone 12, iPhone 12 Pro, and iPhone 12 Pro Max.

If true, the iPhone 12 mini moniker would extend to the 5.4-inch model, the iPhone 12 Pro Max to the 6.7-inch model, and the iPhone 12 and iPhone 12 Pro to the 6.1-inch models.

With all that in mind, we’ll take you through the best reasons to wait and the best reasons to go with another device before the 2020 iPhone models arrive.

Wait Because the iPhone 12 Launch is Close

Wait Because the iPhone 12 Launch is Close

The iPhone 12 launch is just weeks away and that means those of you interested in picking one up should consider holding off on buying a new device until Apple makes its announcements. 

Again, it looks like the iPhone 12 series will start shipping in October due to supply chain issues related to the coronavirus outbreak. 

And again, it looks like the iPhone 12 Pro models might not start shipping until sometime in November. Plans can change, but the leaker who released this information has been spot on in the past. 

According to Jon Prosser, Apple is currently prepping an iOS 14.1 update for release alongside the iPhone 12 series. 

iOS 14.1 reportedly won't be ready until October 9th which means the iPhones likely won't start shipping until mid-to-late October.

If you don't think you can sit through a few more weeks of rumors and/or you phone isn't going to last that long, you'll obviously want to move onto something else.

That said, if you can wait, now is the time to do so. We're getting close. 

Last update on 2020-09-23. This post may contain affiliate links. Click here to read our disclosure policy for more details. Images via Amazon API

Continue Reading

This article may contain affiliate links. Click here for more details.

Featured